Year in Review: My Top 50 Country Music Songs of 2020

It’s that time of year again where I like to take a quick look at my favorite country music songs of the year. We’re just about to the end, so now is as good a time as any, right?

Now, let me preface this list as I always do.

  • I’m not a professional music reviewer.
  • I don’t get paid to promote artists.
  • I don’t go by Billboard or radio airplay charts.

This list consists of the top 50 songs that I liked in 2020. The songs that I wanted to come on my radio while I was just sitting at home (we didn’t really travel anywhere this past year, did we?). Note that not all songs may be “traditional country”. I listen to all genre’s of music, so I have no issues with country artists who play “non-traditional” country. To me…music is music. If I like it, I’m going to listen to it (and enjoy it).

By the way, my three kids had input into this list so some songs might have ended up higher than I might have put them myself. But hey…I value their opinions!

Also, you’ll notice that a lot of mainstream, radio hits by major artists are not included. No reason except for the fact that my list is not based on how famous you are. Simple as that. It’s the songs that I love (but please feel free to sway me in your direction if I left a song off).

You probably heard some of these songs every hour (on the hour) on your local country station. Others may not have been played much (if at all) when they should have been, in my own, personal opinion. Also, while some of these songs may have come out in late 2019, and may have even landed a low spot on my wrap up of the year, they were ones that were predominantly played (if they made the radio) in the 2020 calendar year.

Others may be primed for success next year so keep your ears open! Also, there were a couple of songs that were re-issued this year during the COVID pandemic, so it’s time to bring them back to the countdown…I’m looking at you Kari Lynch Band!

Either way, I’m sure that I’m going to leave quite a few songs off this list that could have easily made it. I know this going in and expect each and every one of you to say “hey, what about this song…or that song.” Please do.

Fight for the music and artists that YOU love!!!!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go through each entry and provide detailed background on the song, reasons for it’s placement, etc…But, feel free to leave a comment and I’d be happy to respond.

Now, without further ado, let’s get this party started:

50. “When I Meet My Maker“, Tenille Townes

49. “Your Love Won’t Let Me Cheat“, RT Johnson

48. “You Were Made for That“, Cash Creek

47. “That’s Where You’ll Find Me“, Mercy Shine

46. “My Voice“, Kalie Shorr

45. “Hole in the Bottle“, Kelsea Ballerini

44. “Done“, Chris Janson

43. “Can We Be Strangers“, Brandy Clark

42. “Classic“, Cam

41. “Only Children“, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

40. “It’s Your Loss“, Drew Baldridge

39. “Cold Bud“, George Ducas

38. “One Beer“, Hardy

37. “Single Saturday Night“, Cole Swindell

36. “Grew Up on That“, High Valley

35. “Stompin’ Grounds“, Reyna Roberts

34. “Some People Do“, Old Dominion

33. “Back on the Bottle“, Brothers Osborne

32. “Why Things Happen“, Jimmy Allen, Charley Pride and Darius Rucker

31. “Bluebird“, Miranda Lambert

30. “Pretty Heart“, Parker McCollum

29. “Slice of Heaven“, Waterloo Revival

28. “Some Girls“, Jameson Rodgers

27. “Drinking Song“, A Thousand Horses

26. “No I in Beer“, Brad Paisley

25. “Whiskey’s Fine“, Adam Doleac

24. “Made for You“, Jake Owen

23. “Break it In“, Eli Young Band

22. “One of Them Girls“, Lee Brice

21. “More Than My Hometown“, Morgan Wallen

20. “Dear Rodeo“, Cody Johnson and Reba McEntire

19. “Beers and Sunshine“, Darius Rucker

18. “Love You Like I Used To“, Russell Dickerson

17. “I Should Probably Go to Bed“, Dan & Shay

16. “Just Friends“, Caylee Hammack

15. “Why We Drink“, Justin Moore

14. “Love Me When I’m Leaving“, Texas Hill

13. “Everywhere But On“, Matt Stell

12. “We Were Rich“, Runaway June

11. “Does to Me“, Luke Combs

10. “Better Than Today“, Kari Lynch Band

9. “Die from a Broken Heart“, Maddie & Tae

8. “Things a Man Oughta Know“, Lainey Wilson

7. “I Hope You’re Happy Now“, Carly Pearce

6. “Wyoming“, Skip Ewing

5. “Never Will“, Ashley McBryde

4. “What Are You Gonna Tell Her“, Mickey Guyton

3. “Stick That in Your Country Song“, Eric Church

2. “I Hope“, Gabby Barrett

  1. More Hearts Than Mine“, Ingrid Andress

Well that’s it. My Top 50 of 2020!

Where did I hit the nail on the head? Where did the arrow miss the mark?

I want to hear from you!

Let me know in the comments below!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment