Year in Review: My Top 100 Country Music Songs of 2019

It’s that time of year again where I like to take a quick look at my favorite country music songs of the year. We’re just about to the end, so now is as good a time as any, right?

Now, let me preface this list as I always do.

  • I’m not a professional music reviewer.
  • I don’t get paid to promote artists.
  • I don’t go by Billboard or radio airplay charts.

This list consists of the top 100 songs that I liked in 2019. The songs that I wanted to come on my radio while driving to and from work, on a road trip, or when I was just sitting at home. Note that not all songs may be “traditional country”. I listen to all genre’s of music, so I have no issues with country artists who play “non-traditional” country. To me…music is music. If I like it, I’m going to listen to it (and enjoy it).

By the way, my three kids had input into this list so some songs might have ended up higher than I might have put them myself. But hey…I value their opinions!

Also, you’ll notice that a lot of mainstream, radio hits by major artists are not included. No reason except for the fact that my list is not based on how famous you are. Simple as that. It’s the songs that I love (but please feel free to sway me in your direction if I left a song off).

You probably heard some of these songs every hour (on the hour) on your local country station. Others may not have been played much (if at all) when they should have been, in my own, personal opinion. Also, while some of these songs may have come out in late 2018, and may have even landed a low spot on my wrap up of the year, they were ones that were predominantly played (if they made the radio) in the 2019 calendar year.

Others may be primed for success next year so keep your ears open!

Either way, I’m sure that I’m going to leave quite a few songs off this list that could have easily made it. I know this going in and expect each and every one of you to say “hey, what about this song…or that song.” Please do.

Fight for the music and artists that YOU love!!!!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go through each entry and provide detailed background on the song, reasons for it’s placement, etc…But, feel free to leave a comment and I’d be happy to respond.

Now, without further ado, let’s get this party started:

100. “Slow“, Michael Beck

99. “Story of You and Me“, Sam Riggs

98. “Mostly Stoned“, Tim Montana

97. “Ballad of an Outlaw“, Seth Anthony

96. “Forever’s Gotta Start Somewhere“, Chad Brownlee

95. “Where You Been All My Life“, Jordan Rager

94. “Stay Over“, Jackson Michelson

93. “Thank You Baby“, Ray Scott

92. “Try Saying Goodbye“, John King

91. “To a T“, Ryan Hurd

90. “Rather Be Us“, Tyler Rich

89. “Yellow Rose Motel“, George Ducas

88. “Still Gonna Be You“, Jade Eagleson

87. “Thirsty Weather“, R.T. Johnson

86. “Nothin’ on You“, Cody Johnson

85. “Whiskey in a Teacup“, Dean Brody

84. “If You Met Me First“, Eric Ethridge

83. “What Could’ve Been“, Gone West

82. “Her World or Mine“, Michael Ray

81. “Some Girls“, Jameson Rodgers

80. “Heartbeat of a Small Town“, Travis Denning

79. “Boots Like Mine“, Josh Gallagher

78. “She’s Mine“, Kip Moore

77. “Kinfolks“, Sam Hunt

76. “Rival“, LANCO

75. “Chasin’ Me“, Caroline Jones

74. “I Hope“, Gabby Barrett

73. “Somebody’s Daughter“, Tenille Townes

72. “Don’t Let Her“, Walker Hayes

71. “Break it In“, Eli Young Band

70. “It Always Rains in Portland“, Mark Mackay

69. “Right Where I Left It“, Cole Swindell

68. “Drink About Me“, Brett Kissel

67. “Highway Honey“, Kari Lynch Band

66. “The Bones“, Maren Morris

65. “Middle of Nowhere Kids“, Drew Baldridge

64. “The Picture“, Steve Moakler

63. “Makes Me Want to Stay“, Clay Walker

62. “Raised on Country“, Chris Young

61. “Slow Dance in a Parking Lot“, Jordan Davis

60. “Love is Stronger“, Matt Kennon

59. “I Do Too“, The Reklaws

58. “Dirty Looks“, Lainey Wilson

57. “Can’t Miss Something“, Maggie Rose

56. “Catch“, Brett Young

55. “If I Was a Cowboy“, Stephanie Quayle

54. “Living“, Dierks Bentley

53. “What Happens in a Small Town“, Lindsay Ell and Brantley Gilbert

52. “It Won’t Always be Like This“, Carly Pearce

51. “Famous“, Adam Doleac

50. “Put Me in My Place“, Muscadine Bloodline

49. “It All Comes Out in the Wash“, Miranda Lambert

48. “One Man Band“, Old Dominion

47. “Homemade“, Jake Owen

46. “Even Though I’m Leaving“, Luke Combs

45. “Ridin’ Roads“, Dustin Lynch

44. “I Hope You’re Happy Now“, Carly Pearce and Lee Brice

43. “Cool Anymore“, Jordan Davis and Julia Michaels

42. “Good Vibes“, Chris Janson

41. “Country Boy Things“, Canaan Smith

40. “Southbound“, Carrie Underwood

39. “Your Mama“, High Valley

38. “Lonely if You Are“, Chase Rice

37. “What if I Never Get Over You“, Lady Antebellum

36.”Somebody’s Gotta Be Country“, Easton Corbin

35. “Like I Miss You“, Waterloo Revival

34. “What Whiskey Does“, Randy Houser

33. “Heartache Medication“, Jon Pardi

32. “Miss Me More“, Kelsea Ballerini

31. “Love You Too Late“, Cole Swindell

30. “After a Few“, Travis Denning

29. “Some of It“, Eric Church

28. “10,000 Hours“, Dan & Shay

27. “The Ones That Didn’t Make it Back Home“, Justin Moore

26. “The Git Up“, Blanco Brown

25. “God’s Country“, Blake Shelton

24. “Make it Sweet“, Old Dominion

23. “Beer Never Broke My Heart“, Luke Combs

22. “Family Tree“, Caylee Hammack

21. “Tip of My Tongue“, Kenny Chesney

20. “Nothing to Do Town“, Dylan Scott

19. “Hard Workin’ Man“, Brothers Osborne and Brooks and Dunn

18. “Old Town Road“, Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus

17. “Dive Bar“, Garth Brooks featuring Blake Shelton

16. “Heaven Bound Balloons“, Granger Smith

15. “Livin’ My Best Life“, A Thousand Horses

14. “The You I Wanna Know“, James Wesley

13. “Make Me Want To“, Jimmie Allen

12. “My One and Only Weakness“, Cash Creek

11. “The Father, My Son and the Holy Ghost“, Craig Morgan

10. “Remember You Young“, Thomas Rhett

9. “Hail Mary“, Haley & Michaels

8. “One Night Standards“, Ashley McBryde

7. “I Wish Grandpas Never Died“, Riley Green

6. “Brand New Man“, Brooks & Dunn and Luke Combs

5. “Love Ain’t“, Eli Young Band

4. “Be Alright“, Parmalee

3. “Nashville“, Kari Lynch Band

2. “More Hearts Than Mine“, Ingrid Andress

1. “Beautiful Crazy“, Luke Combs

Well that’s it. My Top 100 of 2019!

Where did I hit the nail on the head? Where did the arrow miss the mark?

I want to hear from you!

Let me know in the comments below!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Year in Review: My Top 100 Country Music Songs of 2019”

  1. Terri Martin Says:

    #12 hit nail on head with CCB


Leave a comment