Review: Kari Lynch Band Takes You to “The Other Side”

I’m very excited about this one as I have the opportunity to introduce everyone to new music from Kari Lynch with the release of her album “The Other Side“.

First, a bit of background.

The Kari Lynch Band is fronted by Lynch with support from an amazing group of artists including singer-guitarist Justin Eames, lead guitarist Travis Radaz and drummer Brian V, along with bassist Mat Churchill.

Lynch1

Photo Credit: Eric Ellis 2018

Like other great, young artists that I’ve written about, one thing that I truly love about Kari is her deep appreciation for the dedicated fan base she has built up. Her unique voice, which combines classic country with a sort-of modern pop-rock twist, paired with great lyrics about real life and love, resonates with me immediately.

In creating her sound, Kari learned early on that what inspired her most was real life and struggles,  which includes a familiar topic with listeners of country music: love and loss.

In her own words, Kari says:

“I witnessed and experienced heartbreak early in my life. I think it made me grow up faster than most kids my age so I always had that longing for connecting with the rest of the world. Writing songs became my way of figuring out life and it was my place to say exactly how I was feeling, no holds barred.”

The Nashville-based band, originally from the state of Michigan, has played thousands of shows across the country and abroad. They have played to crowds in the tens of thousands and earned an impressive resume opening for some of country music’s most recognized artists including: Kacey Musgraves, Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Dierks Bentley, Pistol Annies, Alabama, Brothers Osborne, Charlie Daniels Band, Thomas Rhett, Kelsea Ballerini and more.

LynchLive

Live at The Local – Nashville, TN – 11/2/18

Now, onto the new album.

The new, independently released album, “The Other Side” takes you on a musical journey which you won’t want to return from. From the first note of “Highway Honey,” the first single released from the new album, you can sense the determination and passion that is shown by the band through every song on the album.

What I love most about the album is that it has a little bit of everything. I’ts fun. It’s honest. It’s a mix of both traditional and modern country music. But, it also has an element of rock. It’s Americana with even some sprinkles of pop as well. As I mentioned, “Highway Honey” sets the tone for the album with it’s upbeat melodies and lyrical genius. While you might think the song is new since it kicks off the album, in fact, it was actually written a couple of years ago and the band decided to save it for this album.

Other top tracks on “The Other Side” include “Running Outta Love“, “Fly, Fly, Fly” and my personal favorite, “Nashville“, a ballad which tells the story of one woman’s journey to find her dreams in Music City. If there is one song that you MUST listen to on this album, “Nashville” is the one.

I had the chance to sit down with Kari when I was in Nashville recently and she was very excited to talk about the new album, their upcoming tour and what’s next for the band. When I asked about the aggressive timeline for completing the album, Lynch said that the group had an absolute blast making it, even though there were a lot of sleepless nights trying to record the album in less than a week. She also mentioned that, most of all, the band is excited for their fans to finally listen to their new music, both on the album, and at their shows.

I want to thank Kari for inviting me into her home to talk about the new album, and give me, and my family, an intimate performance of two of the new songs, “Fly, Fly, Fly” and “Nashville”, as well as the song which first attracted me to the band, “Sweetheart“. I introduced by daughter to The Kari Lynch Band two years ago and their music has had a major impact on her life. Learning to deal with life’s challenge and face them head on.

KariCaitlyn

Kari and Caitlyn in Nashville, Summer 2019

“The Other Side” is THE new album you need to check out in 2019. There is a little bit of something for everyone and you won’t find a bad track from top to bottom. Also, if the Kari Lynch Band is coming to your town, make sure that you catch a show. If the show is all ages, bring the whole family! You won’t regret it.

Also, make sure to check out her website and follow Kari on Twitter at @KariLynchMusic and on Facebook. Upcoming tour dates can be found here.

Hey Kari. Can’t wait to see you on the West Coast in either San Jose or Portland. How about both???

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment