Decade in Review: My Top 100 Country Music Songs from 2008-2018

On Twitter, I said a few weeks ago that it might be fun to pull together a list of my Top 100 songs of the past decade. Little did I know, that I would actually do it.

It sounded like fun and, well, there has been A LOT of good (albeit it diverse) music in the past 10 years.

So, let’s take a trip down memory lane.

Now, let me preface this list as I always do.

  • I’m not a professional music reviewer.
  • I don’t get paid to promote artists.
  • I don’t go by Billboard or radio airplay charts.

This list consists of the top 100 songs that I liked dating back to 2008. The songs that I wanted to come on my radio while driving to and from work, on a road trip, or when I was just sitting at home. Note that not all songs may be “traditional country”. I listen to all genre’s of music, so I have no issues with country artists who play “non-traditional” country. To me…music is music. If I like it, I’m going to listen to it (and enjoy it).

By the way, my three kids had input into this list so some songs might have ended up higher than I might have put them myself.

Also, you’ll notice that a lot of mainstream, radio hits by major artists are not included. No reason except for the fact that my list is not based on how famous you are. Simple as that. It’s the songs that I love (but please feel free to sway me in your direction if I left a song off).

You probably heard some of these songs every hour (on the hour) on your local country station. Others may not have been played much (if at all) when they should have been, in my own, personal opinion.

Either way, I’m sure that I’m going to leave quite a few songs off this list that could have easily made it. I know this going in and expect each and every one of you to say “hey, what about this song…or that song.” Please do.

Fight for the music and artists that YOU love!!!!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go through each entry and provide detailed background on the song, reasons for it’s placement, etc…But, feel free to leave a comment and I’d be happy to respond.

Now, without further ado, let’s get this party started:

100. “Girl Next Door“, Brandy Clark

99. “American Outlaw“, Halfway to Hazard

98. “From a Table Away“, Sunny Sweeney

97. “Good Hands“, Troy Olsen

96. “It Feels Good“, Drake White

95. “I Still Miss You“, Keith Anderson

94. “Already Gone“, Sugarland

93. “She Won’t Be Lonely Long“, Clay Walker

92. “Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)“, Gary Allan

91. “Love is a Beautiful Thing“, Phil Vassar

90. “It’s America“, Rodney Atkins

89. “Bottoms Up“, Brantley Gilbert

88. “Drink to That All Night“, Jerrod Niemann

87. “Trailer Hitch“, Kristian Bush

86. “Back When I Knew it All“, Montgomery Gentry

85. “Greatest Love Story“, LANco

84. “Hole in a Bottle“, Canaan Smith

83. “Carolina“, Parmalee

82. “All Country on You“, Austin Webb

81. “Biscuits”, Kacey Musgraves

80. “Middle of America“, Will Hoge

79. “Country“, Mo Pitney

78. “All Over the Road“, Easton Corbin

77. “Song for Another Time“, Old Dominion

76. “Young & Crazy“, Frankie Ballard

75. “The One That Got Away“, Jake Owen

74. “Compass“, Lady Antebellum

73. “Rockin the Beer Gut“, Trailer Choir

72. “It Ain’t My Fault“, Brothers Osborne

71. “Wild at Heart“, Gloriana

70. “Parking Lot Party“, Lee Brice

69. “Dance With Ya“, Drew Baldridge

68. “Didn’t I“, James Wesley

67. “Keep Them Kisses Comin“, Craig Campbell

66. “If I Didn’t Have You“, Thompson Square

65. “See You Tonight“, Scotty McCreery

64. “Sweetheart“, Kari Lynch Band

63. “Cowboys and Angels“, Dustin Lynch

62. “Backroad Song“, Granger Smith

61. “Anything Goes“, Florida Georgia Line

60. “Outta Style“, Aaron Watson

59. “From the Ground Up“, Dan & Shay

58. “Drinkin’ Problem“, Midland

57. “Long Way Back“, Hillbilly Vegas

56. “Even Angels Have Bad Days“, Cash Creek

55. “How ‘Bout You Don’t“, The Lost Trailers

54. “Burning House“, Cam

53. “Mean“, Taylor Swift

52. “You Broke Up With Me“, Walker Hayes

51. “Small Town USA“, Justin Moore

50. “Hey Pretty Girl“, Kip Moore

49. “All Summer Long“, Kid Rock

48. “Looking Back Now“, Maggie Rose

47. “What We Ain’t Got“, Jake Owen

46. “What Kinda Gone“, Chris Cagle

45. “Up All Night“, Jon Pardi

44. “How Country Feels“, Randy Houser

43. “If I Die Young“, The Band Perry

42. “Every Little Thing“, Carly Pearce

41. “Redneck Crazy“, Tyler Farr

40. “Angel Eyes”, Love and Theft

39. “American Kids“, Kenny Chesney

38. “Hope You Get Lonely Tonight“, Cole Swindell

37. “Saltwater Gospel“, Eli Young Band

36. “Dirt Road Anthem“, Jason Aldean

35. “Where It’s At“, Dustin Lynch

34. “May We All“, Florida Georgia Line featuring Tim McGraw

33. “People Are Crazy“, Billy Currington

32. “American Saturday Night“, Brad Paisley

31. “Crash and Burn“, Thomas Rhett

30. “Girl Crush“, Little Big Town

29. “Friday Night“, Eric Paslay

28. “Wasting All These Tears“, Cassadee Pope

27. “Little Bit of You“, Chase Bryant

26. “Better Man“, Little Big Town

25. “Homegrown“, Zac Brown Band

24. “House Party“, Sam Hunt

23. “Drunk Girl“, Chris Janson

22. “My Church“, Maren Morris

21. “Drink in my Hand“, Eric Church

20. “Hooked Up“, James Wesley

19. “Out Last Night“, Kenny Chesney

18. “Die a Happy Man“, Thomas Rhett

17. “When it Rains it Pours“, Luke Combs

16. “Beers Ago“, Toby Keith

15. “Welcome to the Future“, Brad Paisley

14. “Country Man“, Luke Bryan

13. “Roots“, Zac Brown Band

12. “Keep in Mind“, LoCash

11. “Drunk on a Plane“, Dierks Bentley

10. “No Such Thing as a Broken Heart“, Old Dominion

9. “Beat of the Music“, Brett Eldredge

8. “Wagon Wheel“, Darius Rucker

7. “I Hold On“, Dierks Bentley

6. “She’s with Me“, High Valley

5. “Stay a Little Longer“, Brothers Osborne

4. “Smoke“, A Thousand Horses

3. “Real“, James Wesley

2. “Cruise“, Florida Georgia Line

1. “Even if it Breaks Your Heart“, Eli Young Band

 

Well that’s it. My Top 100 of the past decade.

Where did I hit the nail on the head? Where did the arrow miss the mark?

I want to hear from you!

Let me know in the comments below!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment