Year in Review: My Top 50 Country Music Songs of 2022

It’s that time of year again where I like to take a quick look at my favorite country music songs of the year. We’re just about to the end, so now is as good a time as any, right?

Now, let me preface this list as I always do.

  • I’m not a professional music reviewer.
  • I don’t get paid to promote artists.
  • I don’t go by Billboard or radio airplay charts.

This list consists of the top 50 songs that I liked in 2022. The songs that I wanted to come on my radio while I was just sitting at home, or driving in my car (when I actually got to go places).

Note that not all songs may be “traditional country”. I listen to all genre’s of music, so I have no issues with country artists who play “non-traditional” country. To me…music is music. If I like it, I’m going to listen to it (and enjoy it).

By the way, my three kids had input into this list so some songs might have ended up higher than I might have put them myself. But hey…I value their opinions!

Also, you’ll notice that a lot of mainstream, radio hits by major artists are not included. No reason except for the fact that my list is not based on how famous you are. Simple as that. It’s the songs that I love (but please feel free to sway me in your direction if I left a song off).

You probably heard some of these songs every hour (on the hour) on your local country station. Others may not have been played much (if at all) when they should have been, in my own, personal opinion. Also, while some of these songs may have come out in late 2021, and may have even landed a low spot on my wrap up of the year, they were ones that were predominantly played (if they made the radio) in the 2022 calendar year.

Others may be primed for success next year so keep your ears open!

Either way, I’m sure that I’m going to leave quite a few songs off this list that could have easily made it. I know this going in and expect each and every one of you to say “hey, what about this song…or that song.” Please do.

Fight for the music and artists that YOU love!!!!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go through each entry and provide detailed background on the song, reasons for it’s placement, etc…But, feel free to leave a comment and I’d be happy to respond.

Now, without further ado, let’s get this party started:

50. “Lydia“, Margo Price

49. “Heartfirst“, Kelsea Ballerini

48. “Brenda Put Your Bra On“, Ashley McBryde

47. “A Hundred Years Old“, Brittney Spencer

46. “5 Foot 9“, Tyler Hubbard

45. “Heart of Stone“, Whiskey Myers

44. “Tennessee Orange“, Megan Moroney

43. “Feel Like Going Home“, Miko Marks

42. “She Likes It“, Russell Dickerson and Jake Scott

41. “High“, Caitlyn Smith

40. “Where it Ends“, Bailey Zimmerman

39. “Already Crazy“, Carter Faith

38. “Wild as Her“, Corey Kent

37. “What My World Spins Around“, Jordan Davis

36. “Songs About You“, Brett Eldredge

35. “Bonfire at Tina’s“, Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Brandy Clark and Pillbox Patti

34. “My Bar“, Priscilla Block

33. “Gospel Night at the Strip Club“, Ashley McBryde and Benjy Davis

32. “Boys Back Home“, Hailey Whitters

31. “Where Country Music Comes From“, Adam Doleac

30. “What He Didn’t Do“, Carly Pearce

29. “Flower Shops“, Ernest and Morgan Wallen

28. “Handle on You“, Parker McCollum

27. “Out Runnin’ Your Memory“, Luke Combs and Miranda Lambert

26. “Rock and a Hard Place“, Bailey Zimmerman

25. “Last Night Lonely“, Jon Pardi

24. “AA“, Walker Hayes

23. “Beer With My Friends“, Kenny Chesney and Old Dominion

22. “For What it’s Worth“, Breland

21. “Wasted on You“, Morgan Wallen

20. “Death Row“. Thomas Rhett, Tyler Hubbard and Russell Dickerson

19. “Like I Love Country Music“, Kane Brown

18. “The Kind of Love We Make“, Luke Combs

17. “Circles Around This Town“, Maren Morris

16. “I Love My Life“, Cash Creek

15. “Cigarettes“, Kari Lynch Band

14. “Living Again“, Cloverdayle

13. “High Time for a Good Time“, Hillbilly Vegas

12. “Broken Heartland“, A Thousand Horses

11. “Son of a Sinner“, Jelly Roll

10. “Note to Self“, Randy Houser

9. “Wait in the Truck“, Hardy featuring Lainey Wilson

8. “Down Home“, Jimmie Allen

7. “Something in the Orange“, Zach Bryan

6. “Mama, Dolly, Jesus“, Madeline Edwards

5. “Take My Name“, Parmalee

4. “Don’t Come Lookin“, Jackson Dean

3. “Heart Like a Truck“, Lainey Wilson

2. “Whiskey on You“, Nate Smith

1.”You Had Me at Heads Carolina“, Cole Swindell

Well that’s it. My Top 50 of 2022! Where did I hit the nail on the head? Where did the arrow miss the mark?

I want to hear from you!

Let me know in the comments below!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment