Concert Review: A Thousand Horses Brings a Musical “Landslide” to Oregon

Just when I think there’s nothing more I can say about a band…they come out and surprise me once again. I feel like that’s a theme with A Thousand Horses.

ATH_Tillamook

I have said this over and over again, and I believe it bears repeating: A Thousand Horses is THE band you need to watch, follow and support. There is literally no other act in country music like them. I first stumbled across them more than a year ago, opening for Josh Thompson and Will Hoge at the Rodeo Club in San Jose, and I’ve been hooked by their music, their lyrics and their stage presence ever since.

For a little background, A Thousand Horses takes the best of both country music and southern rock and ties it all together in 90 minutes of in your face musical fun. Comparisons? You want to know who they sound like? Well, that’s a tough one. If I had to give a comparison, I’d have to say that they remind me of Lynyrd Skynyrd, the Allman Brothers and The Black Crowes, with their own unique style. Trust me. In now way are they a copycat act of any of these bands. Sure, they may not yet have the pedigree of any of the aforementioned bands, but give it a little time. I have a feeling that we’ll be hearing from these guys for many, many years to come.

The band consists of four core members, but there are a bunch more, including the Horsettes (my daughter’s favorites):

Michael Hobby – Lead Vocal
Bill Satcher – Lead Guitar
Zach Brown – Guitar and Vocal
Graham Deloach – Bass and Vocal

Credit: Liisa Anderson

Now that you’ve met the guys, let me tell you a little more about them. A Thousand Horses has their own look. They have their own sound. They also have a stage presence that captivates their audience from the very first note. The entire band gives it their all every time they hit the stage. But what they do best, outside of their music, is that they also take the time to engage with their fans.Throughout this show (and others I’ve been to), they are always interacting with the audience. Talking with them. Waving to them. All the while, they’re having a great time.

On this warm, Tillamook, Oregon evening (hosted by 98.7 The Bull), the band hit the stage right at 8 p.m., just as the sun began to set over the Pacific Ocean to the West.

ATH1_TIll

Naturally, the band opened with “Southernality”, the title track from their album and their current single on country radio. This definitely got the crowd fired up as the went into a traditional setlist which included favorites such as “(This Ain’t No) Drunk Dial”, “Tennessee Whiskey”, “Sunday Morning”, “Trailer Trashed”, “Back to Me”, “Heaven is Close” and “Travelin’ Man”.

Graham Deloach! Credit: Liisa Anderson

The crowd also got a taste of a couple new songs from a yet to be titled new album. “Blaze of Something” and “Up for Anything” are certainly two songs that I can’t wait to hear on country radio. But “Bridges” was by far my favorite. The band did an up close, acoustic version of the song which was fantastic and definitely one of the highlights of the evening.

The night concluded with a cover of The Black Crowes “Hard to Handle”, their number one hit “Smoke” and the opening song from the Southernality album, “First Time”. Obviously, the crowd went wild for Smoke, singing every lyric, but I always love that the band closes with “First Time”. It’s just the perfect song to close the night out. A rocking tune that truly leaves the audience wanting more.

The Horsettes! Credit: Liisa Anderson

 

 

Simply put, there is nothing else like A Thousand Horses on the radio today and that’s an absolute shame! A Thousand Horses is what country music needs right here…and right now.

Bill Satcher & The Horsettes! Credit: Liisa Anderson

 

You know you want to keep up with the band, new music and tour news, so make sure you check them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter at@AThousandHorses. Don’t forget to download Southernality on iTunes and on Amazon.

While you’re at it, check out the A Thousand Horses Stable, the official fan club of the band. You can check them out on Twitter at @TheATHStable and on Facebook. The “Stable Hands” over there do a fantastic job promoting their favorite band. GIDDYUP!

ATH_Stable

 

A Thousand Horses is currently out on the road with Jason Aldean and Thomas Rhett, so if you’ve got tickets to the Six String Circus Tour 2016, be sure you get there early and don’t miss A Thousand Horses. You won’t regret it!

Now it’s your turn. Did you go to the show in Tillamook? Have you seen A Thousand Horses live? I want to hear from you. Are they as good as I’ve said?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Concert Review: A Thousand Horses Brings a Musical “Landslide” to Oregon”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I discovered A Thousand Horses after hearing them on Sirius’ 56 The Hughway. This was prior to Smoke being released. They did an interview and played Smoke, which was great. But I was absolutely blown away by Traveling Man. Had to wait more than 6 months for their album to be released, but it was worth the wait. This band is the real deal, and exactly what is missing in current music. Saw them live at Wild Bills in Atlanta – full set – and they were fantastic. If you haven’t heard them, go listen now! So good, I can’t say enough about them!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Traveled up from the south coast,well worth the beautiful drive. Awesome show. . I’m wearing my t shirt & still singing

  3. Sam Friess Says:

    I saw their video for ‘Smoke’ on a country tv show and loved it. So I went on YouTube as I’d never heard of them. Loved what I saw and bought their album. What can I say, it’s fantastic. I loved it so much that when I found out they were touring the UK I got tickets for their show in London and will be seeing them in November. I definately think they are a band to watch and as this review says, I also think they could be around for years to come. So good and so different just what the music industry on the whole needs. Love ’em

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I saw them at Santa Jam in Portland in December 2015. They were the best part of the night for me! Absolutely love their music and Style!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    A Thousand Horses is awesome in concert, has the best ITunes download and I would buy tickets to see them headline a show. Their Southernality album is packed with hit songs. If you get a chance to see the #Sixstringcircustour get in your seats on time to hear the best new band out there.


Leave a Reply

