Artist Spotlight: Halfway to Hazard

“Just’a good ol’ boys
Never meanin’ no harm.
Beats all you never saw
Been in trouble with the law
Since the day they was born.”

Wait. I thought I was going to talk about the Dukes of Hazzard today. You mean I’m not?

All kidding aside, I’m here to continue my Artist Spotlight series with another up-and-coming group that goes by the name Halfway to Hazard. Heard of them? Maybe a few years back? More on that later…

H2H

As background, Chad Warrix and David Tolliver, better known as the group Halfway to Hazard, can only be described with the same words I’ve used here on my blog for years, “a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll.” Nothing wrong with that. In fact, that’s two of my favorite things when it comes to music. And they live up to that descriptor. From what I’ve seen, the group holds nothing back in their music. In fact, if they were in NASCAR, I’d say that they put the pedal to the metal and don’t look back until they cross the finish line.

So before I get to the music, you’re probably wondering where the band’s name came from? Well, it seems that Halfway to Hazard are the opening words of the song “Cold,” which it so happens was the first song Warrix and Tolliver wrote together several years after they left their home state of Kentucky. Eventually, they wound up where many aspiring country music groups find themselves…in Nashville. So much for my assumption that they were huge fans of Bo and Luke Duke. Side note: I probably should have known since the name was missing an extra “z”.

Now let’s get to the most important thing that I’m here to talk about today: the music. Plain and simple, it’s good. It’s really good.

Their debut single, “Daisy“, was a Top 40 hit on the Billboard Hot Country Songs charts way back in 2007. That same year, the band toured as the opening act on Tim McGraw and Faith Hill’s Soul2Soul Tour. In 2008, they went on tour with McGraw and a youngster by the name of Jason Aldean. They were also nominated by the Academy of Country Music (ACM) for the Duo of the Year award. Not a bad two year stretch, right?

Sadly, in January of 2010, the duo went on an extended hiatus. After some ups and downs over the next few years, Tolliver and Warrix decided to officially reunite Halfway to Hazard in late 2014…and I for one am glad they did!

Released earlier this year, the song from Halfway to Hazard that I’m absolutely hooked on is “American Outlaw“. Oh, the video isn’t too bad either. In fact, it’s really good!

According to The Rowdy:

The video is being used as a tease for the upcoming spanking new record that’s still in development that has HTH returning to the studio after their personal hiatus was declared in 2009, and will put them back in the tour bus for their 2016 REDEMPTION TOUR.

Penned by Tolliver and Warrix with the aid of Matt Alderman, the single will be featured as the theme for a documentary about the song’s subject, which gives Halfway To Hazard a chance to see the back story of their old stomping grounds.

You’ll definitely want to check it out on iTunes.

Here’s to hoping that they get their new album out this summer. I’m really looking forward to it! Until then, take a listen to some more of their music. You’ll find links to a few additional Halfway to Hazard songs, both old and new, that I’m sure you’re going to enjoy, below:

Meet Me in Vegas (Potential next single)

Heaven on Down the Highway

Countrified

I Know Where Heaven Is

Country Til the Day We Die

I know there’s more, but I’ll let you check out the band, and the rest of their music, for yourself. If you’re interested in keeping up with Halfway to Hazard, make sure you visit their website and follow them on Twitter at @HalfwayToHazard and on Facebook.

So what did I miss? Have you seen Halfway to Hazard live? What do you think of these guys? Please share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Artist Spotlight: Halfway to Hazard”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I’ve saw these guys live so many times I’ve lost count. I’m not just a casual fan, I’ve become like family. The thing that stands out the most to me is their genuine love for their fans and pride for their home state of Kentucky. They are the most giving and generous people I know and they know how to wow a crowd. They have a magic between them that can’t be explained but once they begin playing you can feel it in your soul. Please see them live. You won’t regret it.

  2. Nancy Brown Says:

    I’ve been a huge fan of Chad and David’s since WAY back when they were still “The Redneck Rockstars” in about 2005. They began touring with Tim McGraw and that was it; I was hooked. I’ve been all over this great country to see them; from Los Angeles to The Bahamas, and everywhere in between. Never once have I been disappointed in all these years. . . except for the brief period when they took a break. These Eastern Kentucky are more than worth a listen. . . you owe it to yourself to do so. Catch them in Nashville during CMA Week. You’ll be glad you did.

  3. Bridget Says:

    Been following this band since 2007!!! When they took a break, it was heartbreaking! Glad the music is back to being made- because these boys JAM!!! Not like the manufactured mess that’s been “popping” into country music. They are true, blue blessings to real, raw music & I hope that never changes!!! Catch a show and get COUNTRIFIED!!

  4. Bonnie Mers Says:

    I love these guys and the music they make together is the BEST. From the moment I went to the first concert I have been hooked and they have become my favorite band!!! David and Chad are such talented young men and have such a huge fan base. I am so proud of them.


Leave a Reply

