Artist Spotlight: LANco

Today’s “Artist Spotlight” is a band that i’ve had my eyes (and ears) on for a long time: LANco.

Haven’t heard of them? Give it some time. These guys are primed for success. Heck, they even landed at #100 in my “Top 100 Country Music Songs of 2015” countdown with their song “Trouble Maker” and I can name two others that will most likely make my list in 2016. More on that later.

LancoPic

Credit: Rudy Sabin

As a bit of background, formerly known as Lancaster & Company, Sony Music Nashville signed LANco to the label group’s Arista Nashville. The band, consisting of Brandon Lancaster, Tripp Howell, Eric Steedly, Jared Hampton and Chandler Baldwin, released their debut EP on Spotify, featuring the tracks “American Love Story”, “Trouble Maker“, “Long Live Tonight” and “We Do“. You should definitely check it out when you have a few minutes. You won’t regret it. You can find it on iTunes and Amazon.

I actually discovered these guys on a Saturday night back in September when I was on a trip to Atlanta. So I’m checking out the town and I stumble across a venue called Smith’s Olde Bar. Without any plans that evening, I decided to check things out when I heard a familiar tune (see the link below to a video from a performance of this Red Sox favorite at the Rodeo Club late last year). I’m glad I walked in. Although I only caught a couple songs that night, it gave me an idea of who the band is and what they’re all about. I was very excited to catch them again a few months later, late last year in San Jose.

I’ve got to admit, while I loved the energy and crowd interaction of both the Atlanta and San Jose shows, one of my favorite songs they played both nights was the ballad “American Love Story“. This song is your small town love story that many of us can relate to. I sure can and I’m pretty sure that the rest of the crowd did as well. I read somewhere that it was featured on Netflix’s “The Ranch” and I’m going to go out on a limb right now and say that you’ll hear this one as a radio hit later in 2016.

Lanco4

As I mentioned, at the San Jose show, LANco pulled a few cover songs out of their bag.

Here’s a link to one of the highlights of the evening, a cover of Neil Diamond’s “Sweet Caroline”.

Here’s a link to a cover of Walk the Moon’s “Shut Up and Dance”.

I’m not sure that there’s a lot more I can say about LANco. These guys are fun. They’re talented. They put on a show that makes you want more.

Oh, I do have one more thing. Did I mention that in the concerts I saw, they played the second half of their final song from the crowd? The lead singer literally brought some drums into the crowd and went to town. The crowd ate it up! I actually ended up with a drumstick from the San Jose show. My son has claimed it for his own.

I can tell you this right now, you don’t want to miss LANco when they come to your town. Whether opening for another act, or performing their own set at a club, they are well worth your time.

In fact, they’ll be back in San Jose on Wednesday, June 1, opening for Chris Janson at the Rodeo Club (and I’m still trying to find a way to make a trip down from Oregon to catch the show). You guys have any plans for an Oregon show anytime soon?

Interested in keeping up with LANco? Make sure you visit their website and check them out on Twitter at @LancoMusic and on Facebook.

So what did I miss? Have you seen LANco live? Is the show as good as I said? Please share your thoughts in the comments section below.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

