Concert Review: LANco Brings the Trouble Making to San Jose, California

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: If KRTY announces a show at the Rodeo Club, no matter what night of the week it is, you NEED to make your way down to the venue. Tonight was no different. Not just because of the rising stars on the bill, but because proceeds and donations went to support Family Giving Tree. Charity and great music, of course I made the trip down from Portland, Oregon.

LANCO

On this rainy Wednesday evening, the San Jose crowd was treated to an energy packed performance from an up-and-coming group by the name of LANco. Haven’t heard of them? Give it time. These guys are primed for success. Heck, they even landed at #100 in my “Top 100 Country Music Songs of 2015” countdown with their single “Trouble Maker”.

So I actually discovered these guys by chance on a Saturday night back in September when I was on a trip to Atlanta. Get this, I’m checking out the town and I stumble across a venue called Smith’s Olde Bar. Without any plans that evening, I decided to check things out when I heard a familiar tune (see the link to the video from tonight’s performance of this Red Sox favorite). I’m glad I walked in. Although I only caught a couple songs that night, it gave me an idea of who the band is and what they’re all about. As you can imagine, I was excited to see another show, this time on the West Coast, timed with my latest trip to the Bay Area.

LancoPic

 

 

As a bit of background, formerly known as Lancaster & Company, Sony Music Nashville signed LANco to the label group’s Arista Nashville. The band, consisting of Brandon Lancaster, Tripp Howell, Eric Steedly, Jared Hampton and Chandler Baldwin, recently released their debut EP on Spotify, featuring the tracks “Trouble Maker,” “American Love Story,” “We Do,” and “High.” You should definitely check it out when you have a few minutes. You won’t regret it.

Lanco3

 

During tonight’s San Jose show, LANco performed these songs as well as a couple of well known covers. I’ve got to admit, while I loved the energy and crowd interaction, one of my favorite songs of the night was the ballad “American Love Story”. This song is your small town love story that many of us can relate to. I sure can and I’m pretty sure that the rest of the crowd did as well. I’m going to go out on a limb right now and say that you’ll hear this one as a radio hit in 2016.

 

As I mentioned, LANco pulled a few cover songs out of their bag.

Here’s a link to one of the highlights of the evening, a cover of Neil Diamond’s “Sweet Caroline”.

Here’s a link to a cover of Walk the Moon’s “Shut Up and Dance”.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a video of the encore which consisted of a cover of Eric Church’s “Drink in my Hand”, but I can tell you, it was fantastic!

Lanco2

 

I’m not sure that there’s a lot more I can say about LANco. These guys are fun. They’re talented. They put on a show that makes you want more. It’s midnight now, and I’m still wanting to go back to the Rodeo Club and hear a few more songs. The show was THAT good! Did I mention that they played the second half of their final song from the crowd? The lead singer literally brought some drums into the crowd and went to town. The crowd ate it up!

 

LANco is currently doing a few shows with Eli Young Band, but will be out on the road again in 2016. While they aren’t sure who they’ll be touring with, I can tell you this, you don’t want to miss them when they come to your town. Whether opening for another act, or performing their own set at a club, they are well worth your time.

Interested in keeping up with LANco? Make sure you visit their website and check them out on Twitter at @LancoMusic and on Facebook.

Lanco4

As I sit here reminiscing on another great night of country music, I have to give thanks to KRTY. As always, thank you to Nate Deaton, Julie Stevens, Tina Ferguson, Gary Scott Thomas, Randy Jones, Indiana Al, Jamie Jackson, Danika Gurley, Jenna Johnson etc…for once again bringing the best in up-and-coming talent to the South Bay. I’d love to see any other so called “local country station” in the Bay Area try to do that!

Were you at the show? Have you seen LANco live? Let me know your thoughts on these guys in the comments section below.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

