If You Can’t Beat Them…

Seems like health concerns are a top issue of everyone these days so I might as well share my experience this past Tuesday.

Yesterday started out like any other morning. Up at 6 a.m. to get the kids breakfast, lunches made and out the door for school. Only, it didn’t go according to plan.

Around 8:30 a.m. I was walking back from a short walk when I realized something was wrong. I had been to the gym a half hour earlier and did my usual workout. Maybe even LESS strenuous than usual.

Alas, as I made my way back to the house, I noticed that my stomach was aching, followed by some compression in my chest. I chalked it up to the cold that I’ve been feeling coming on. Then, all of a sudden, it hit me. I was trying to focus on the short driveway on the hill ahead but it wasn’t working. Everything started to go blurry. My heart was racing and I felt as though I was losing my balance.

It was at that moment that I realized that both of my legs and both of my arms were “dead”, like that feeling you get when you lay on them wrong. Ants marching I always say.

Well, I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to make the trek up the hill without help so I “tried” to call and text my wife. I later learned that both my call and text were unintelligible. Looking back now, the text is actually kind of funny.

What happened next…I don’t know. I do remember trying to reach for the stop sign that was a few feet in front of me. Next thing I know, a woman in a car has her window rolled down and is asking if I am OK. Not sure what happened, but I was laying down on the grass, flat on my stomach with the stop sign right next to me. My guess…I passed out.

After a minute or two, I got to my feet and started to walk up the hill to our house. I had to stop twice on the way because I just couldn’t make it. Lucky for me, my wife got home about 5 minutes later and took me to the ER.

So in the end, I guess (according to the doctors) I was “majorly dehydrated” with “bottomed out” blood pressure and a heart beat that was racing out of my chest. I got IV’s for a few hours and have been drinking Gatorade ever since. Glad that it wasn’t anything TOO serious. The whole time, I thought I was having a heart attack. No joke. I was sure of it! But my EKG etc…looked fine. They are monitoring my heart, though, because it had a bit of an irregular heartbeat.

I have NEVER been as scared in my life as those few minutes when I had absolutely NO control over my body. We’ve all been under the influence of alcohol, but this was 10X worse than I have EVER been and I don’t want to EVER go through it again!

Oh, one good thing that did happen was when we drove to the ER, I couldn’t find my wallet or keys. Lucky for me, we found them in the grass area where I had passed out at. Whew! Crisis avoided.

Sorry for the rambling…just wanted to share! Take care of yourselves at all times! I know for me, it’s all about keeping hydrated and not over exerting myself for awhile.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “If You Can’t Beat Them…”

  1. One Op Says:

    So sorry you had such a scare John, but thank you for sharing because so many neglect to consider dehydration as a cause for many experiences like this. It is informative and good to read. I went to the market this week and they were all out of Gatorade so now I know who was drinking it. Seriously, so glad to read it was
    just that, but I don’t mean “Just that!” “That” is as serious as having a real heart attack if not getting on top of it.

  2. zelda Says:

    OMG John! Wow what an experience for you!! OOOO.
    I am so glad it turned out ok! Man o man.
    Why didn’t that woman call 911 for pete’s sake.???
    Take care and drink that Gatorade!
    Hugs

  3. sandy1961 Says:

    Dang John-What an experience!!!! So glad it wasn’t a heart attack…
    Losing feeling & getting blurryeyed is definately a sign that your NOT RIGHT.. What’s up with that woman NOT getting you help???
    I was on my way home from work one day & found a man passed out on a curb.. Stopped to see what was up & believe it or not people were pissed that my car was blocking them from turning on the street…. IDIOTS… come to find out the guy was a drunk & was sleeping it off… I offered him a ride home & he wasn’t aware enough to give me proper directions & we were going all over the place… He then decides he is gonna play touchy feely with me & I was kicking him outta the car BUT he decided he wasn’t going…. LUCKILY a cop just happened to pass by on the main street & I flew up to the corner I started flashing my lights at him… OF COURSE he stopped thankfully & then the drunk was his problem… Come to find out he does this once in awhile & was known by them…. The cop was NOT pleased at his touchy feely with me & took him to the jail to sleep it off….
    Guess I learned my lesson…. Didn’t want the old guy getting a drunk in public BUT next time I’ll just call them & NOT put him in my car..
    LIVE & LEARN

  4. Kreuzer33 Says:

    I wish I could remember it all. All I remember is walking on the sidewalk, vision getting blurry, legs getting weak and trying to reach for a sign post a few feet in front of me. Next thing I know, I’m laying on my stomach in the grass, looking up at the street at a woman in a car. She saw me get up and I sort of waved (I think) telling her I was fine. In reality, I was still out of it but got home and to the doctor ASAP 🙂

  5. One Op Says:

    John, THANK YOU!

  6. Honeydog Says:

    Geezzz John… I almost had a Coronary just reading about it! Thank Goodness you’re alright.
    I’ve had similar “Episodes” myself— Sudden… Not knowing what was happening… Taking-over the Body… Helpless against it… Really feeling and thinking that it’s a Heart Attack… Desperate for the quick Safety of, and ending-up in, an Emergency Room— And No, I don’t have to tell you, it’s extremely Frightening. You truly feel like you’re going to Die… And the more you try not to Panic, the more your Body SENSES the Panic, and it keeps climbing, until you’re SURE you’re going to Die. Yes, it’s the most Terrifying experience.
    For me, it’s been Sugar or Asophygas-related, and a couple times “Unexplained”. But I can sure Relate.
    Really appreciate you sharing this with us… You know we Care… As well as the always-important Reminder to Take it Easy and Take Care of ourselves. You do the same now, ya hear.
    So Glad you were Rescused by your Wife— But I know not near as Glad as YOU were!

  7. Honeydog Says:

    Sandy~
    DAMN, Girl! We know you have a kind and generous HEART, but next time you wanna play Good SAMARITAN, at least smell their BREATH first and Tie them UP while you’re Driving! Don’t you know the things that could happen to you??… Don’t you ever watch Nancy GRACE??!! (HaHa)… And he could’ve PEED all over your Seat!
    Seriously, it’s not Funny… But leave them Drunks alone— Most of the time they’re Better-off than WE are! And you never know when someone’s “Pretending”. You don’t have to put ANYbody in your Car in order to help them, as much as you feel you want to or should… Whatever it may be, CALL for Help. You were Lucky. Geezzz, don’t make me worry about you AGAIN! 🙂

  8. zelda Says:

    Paleeeeeze be careful Sandy!!! It’s a harsh world these days.
    Mt heart began to race thinking you might be in harms way. Geeeeeeeeze.\
    So gla you are ok.hugs

  9. Christine Says:

    That’s crazy! I have never had anything quite like that happen and I hope I never do. Dehydration just gives me a headache. And, regarding the comments about the drunk? I just call the cops to come and do a “welfare check”, here in my town they’re good about that. I would leave them alone but I couldn’t forgive myself if they died of alcohol poisoning and I did nothing to help…….

  10. zelda Says:

    I agree Christine.

  11. Honeydog Says:

    Hello Christine~
    I didn’t say “do Nothing”… I said “Call” for Help. I would do that much myself, and would expect anybody to.

  12. zelda Says:

    Right on Honeydog!

  13. sandy1961 Says:

    TRUST me gals–THAT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN!!!!!!
    I guess I felt BAD for the ole guy….
    ALL the cops in my little town are really cool (funny how I know them ALL)
    This cop told my NOT to do that either.. (wasn’t thinking)
    As for Nancy Grace my friend… I can just say HAHAHA…
    Was wathing the 5 the other day & Greg Gutfeld mentioned her……
    You shouda seen the look on Dana & Kimberly’s faces….. PRICELESS!!!!! I don’t think he cares for her either(BEST REMARK EVER) wish I could remember it verbatem…
    Have a great turkey day to you ALL

  14. Honeydog Says:

    Okie Dokie then. I’d like to see a Picture of you, but not on my TV SCREEN in a Tragic NEWS Story!
    I was JOKING ya know, when I asked that Question about Nancy Grace… I know how much you LOVE her (HaHa)

    GOBBLE GOBBLE GOBBLE! Hope you enjoy the Day!

  15. sandy1961 Says:

    Pup I knew you were yankin my chain


Leave a Reply

