TV Star Andy Griffith Dead at 86

Andy Griffith, who came to fame as Sheriff Andy Taylor in The Andy Griffith Show for the CBS from 1960-1968, has died at the age of 86. On the show, Ron Howard played his son, Opie.

He also starred on other shows and in films, but found great success later in life with legal drama Matlock where he played the title character, Ben Matlock.

RIP Andy!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “TV Star Andy Griffith Dead at 86”

  1. zelda Says:

    When the world gets me down I go to Netflix and watch the endearing characters of Mayberry, I start to feel better as the corny old story begins,,,,,,,,,,those were good days,,,,,,,,,saner days,,,kinder days. Andy was a super role model as a dad and Barney and Floyd and the rest were the best TV had to offer then and now,
    I thank you Andy,,,,,,,,,,,,for making those years indelible ,happy memories.

  2. One Op Says:

    A man who represented in his life and the characters he played a human being that was and is admired and respected. At least by someone like me.

  3. Sandy Says:

    Loved the shows he was in.. R.I.P.

  4. Honeydog Says:

    You three covered my Sentiments well for me. Ron Howard (and I’m sure countless others) said that Andy was one of the nicest, kindest, generous, genuine Human Beings he ever met, and I believe he indeed was… and to me, a very fine Actor who never seemed to “Act”, but rather was as real and relatable as my own Father sitting on the Sofa next to me as I grew-up watching the daily Fun in Mayberry and Life-Lessons taught by Sheriff Taylor. Thank God for Andy and Shows like that which enriched our Childhood and left such fond and lasting Memories. His otherwise Dramatic Roles were just as Impressive and Admirable on our older Minds. For everything he was, and all he contributed to good Entertainment for many years, he was, and always will be, Beloved and Missed. RIP.


  5. In the show, Griffith played the amiable sheriff of an small, idyllic town modeled on his own birthplace of Mount Airy. The gentle comedy continues to be broadcast and retains a following, including “Rerun Watchers Club” chapters around the country and on Facebook.


Leave a Reply

