Bono Hitches a Ride with NHL Player

U2 front-man Bono and his assistant were out for a walk in Vancouver, British Columbia when wouldn’t you know, it started to rain.

Bono later told a concert crowd that Edmonton Oilers player Gilbert Brule and his girlfriend were driving in a truck when they spotted the two and offered to give them a ride.

From CNN:

“I like ice hockey, because people who play ice hockey are the kind of people who pick up hitchhikers,” Bono told a concert crowd Wednesday in Edmonton, Alberta, as seen in a video posted on YouTube. “I know this from personal experience.”

Kelsey Nichols told CNN affiliate CTV, that she didn’t believe her boyfriend, Brule, that the hitchhiker was Bono. “I said no, we’re not picking up a hitchhiker. We’re going to die,” she said later, with a smile. “There’s no way.”

But Nichols, who was driving, changed her mind and turned around. According to the Edmonton Sun, the couple had set out for a local park to walk their German shepherd — a dog that eventually shared space in the back of the truck with the singer and his assistant.

“He was very cool,” Bono said of Brule, describing him as a “very modest man.” “He said, ‘Where do you want to go?’ And I said, ‘Just take me to where The Edge is'” — a reference to U2’s well-known guitarist.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Bono Hitches a Ride with NHL Player”


  1. Imagine if we were able to be feel comfortable enough to do that all the time.

  2. Honeydog Says:

    I think whether a person plays Ice Hockey or the Slots in Vegas, if they saw a Hitchhiker and knew it was someone “Famous”, they’d pick them up. I remember those days though, when, mostly Men, stood on the side of a Highway with their Thumb out and you didn’t think twice about pulling over. Did it myself many times. Too bad that the World is what it is anymore, for the “Innocent” ones.

  3. One Op Says:

    Honeydog, Am I right in thinking you are male. None of my business is OK. lol

  4. Honeydog Says:

    *OneOp*~
    I’m honestly surprised. I didn’t think I came accross like that (and with a name like
    “Honeydog”??)… But No, I’m not. One of these days, I’m going to write to you and Zelda (Remember when John sent that E-Mail to the three of us with our E-Mail Addresses?). Anyway, now you know (you’re still going to TALK to me, AREN’T you?? LOL!!


Leave a Reply

