Casey Anthony: Judge Perry Denies Motion for Media to Know Jury Selection Venue

Judge Belvin Perry has denied several media outlets’ request to know in advance where jury selection will take place May 9.

From the Orlando Sentinel:

The Associated Press and a number of non-local news organizations have appealed Chief Judge Belvin Perry’s order governing pre-notification of the jury selection venue in the Casey Anthony trial.

The appeal is significant because it could lead to a delay in the start of the high-profile murder trial’s jury selection, which is scheduled to commence Monday morning.

Last week, several media organizations filed a motion asking Perry to reconsider his plans to have news groups sign a confidentiality agreement in order to get advance notice of the location of jury selection in the case.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Casey Anthony: Judge Perry Denies Motion for Media to Know Jury Selection Venue”

  1. Honeydog Says:

    I don’t know much about all the Legal technicalities, but I don’t blame Judge Perry for denying this. I think the Media should just cool their Sniffers and back-off from their Hound-dogging and wait for the authorized Release of this information when it’s deemed appropriate to be given them. The last damn thing we need is for this already-long-overdue Trial to come to a Halt when it’s near-ready to begin, because of their insatiable Hunger for a Tidbit of News and Impatience in getting their Paws on it.

  2. Carol in VA Says:

    Good afternoon. It’s all about ratings. “Remember you heard it here first.” How many times have we heard that? This judge is a Godsend. I know he is trying to do what is best for all concerned.

  3. GBinOKC Says:

    I’ve not read the grounds upon which the media co-op is filing its motion, but I’m assuming that it has something to do with Florida’s curious “sunshine” laws. I think that Judge Perry’s ruling will be upheld. The “need” of the media to disclose critical information regarding venue is far outweighed by the defendant’s right to a fair trial.

  4. zelda Says:

    I know this is the wrong place to post this but I am going to do it anyway.
    cindy and george can attend the trial……..let’s hope the media doesn’t create a drama around that.

  5. Honeydog Says:

    Hi Zelda! Can you believe that? I was SO surprised that Judge Perry is allowing this. I realize I’m nobody, but I still think it’s not right for George and Cindy to be in the Courtroom for the entire time. Here’s a Jury now not only hearing the Testimony of two Witnesses who are so close-to and vested-in the person on Trial, but also observing them in the light of being the “poor Parents”, having constant Emotional Outbreaks— not only over their Grand-daughter, but in Anguish and Desperation over the Fate of that person on Trial… their own Daughter. While I know that all the Incriminating Facts and Circumstances will be heard anyway, and that the chosen Jury must be capable of the Death Penalty decision in any event, you have to admit, this is weird, and, to me, it’s somewhat
    “Influential”, possibly an Advantage for The Defense, and just doesn’t seem to be a Fair and Balanced situation. I don’t know. I just know, personally, I don’t like it. Anyway, Monday is right around the corner… The Media will be “Staked-out” and no doubt the “Leaks” will be dripping come Monday night. Get your Fingers ready my Friend. Can you believe it?… The time has finally really come.

  6. One Op Says:

    The media or someone is apt to create something to bring Cindy and George to react to get them ordered to leave the courtroom. We all know it is difficult for them to remain composed. I don’t think I could keep some emotion from causing me to act out and I don’t even know if I would WANT to be in court like they do.
    Actually it would be easier for them to watch on television, so they could react in
    whatever way they felt like. I don’t understand their wanting to be there. To show Casey support? But she has not wanted their support all these three years.

  7. zelda Says:

    I hear you Honeydog.
    Another curious twist is that george and cindy both should be up on charges of obstruction and perjury evidence tampering and a few other slammers and are sitting there as the grieving parents instead.
    Did the judge forget all of this and allow them in because “family” have rights to be in the courtroom in a normal setting?
    Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
    The news is reporting that the “defense” didn’t want george and cindy allowed in either ,,,so that makes me think maybe Judge Perry has something up his sleeve.He is pretty savy.It’s a guessing game.
    If george and cindy get to listen blow by blow then they may be able to fabricate matching stories and weave plausible answers to prosecuters in the future.

  8. Honeydog Says:

    *OneOp*, I’ve got a feeling that George and Cindy are going to react in whatever way they feel like ANYway— regardless of being in the Courtroom. Besides the array of Emotions I think we can expect— including Anger, Frustration, Denial, and of course, Distraught— I can almost Bet that one, or both, will be getting up and needing to leave periodically during some of the gruesome details. I hope they realize what they’re in for, as those parts WILL be most difficult to sit-through and tolerate. I remember the Families of Nicole Brown-Simpson and Ron Goldman trying to withstand the gory pictures and explanations at O.J.’s Trial, and the Court Session was disrupted from time to time by their Verbal Outbreaks and fleeing from their Seats. I suppose this is common at alot of Murder Trials, but if George and Cindy Anthony, especially, don’t display their infamous Attitudes, blurt-out their dislike of being Intimidated, and give the Court a real run for its money even MOREso than the “usual” Participants/Attendees, I’ll be very surprised.

    And Yes, *Zelda*, I would tend to think too that they could be more apt to “Play-off” what they are personally witnessing. I still don’t understand what the Loop-hole could have been for the Judge’s decision, since we did hear that Witnesses are not permitted, and that being “Family” was not sufficient enough for Perry to override. Oh well. For the most part, I’ve been quite satisfied with the Rulings, so, it is what it is, and we shall see the outcome of it.

  9. zelda Says:

    yup………let’s roll.


Leave a Reply

