Southwest Airlines Checks Planes for Cracks

Southwest Airlines expects to cancel approximately 100 flights today as investigators continue inspecting its fleet after a mid air incident on a Sacramento bound flight last week.

Seriously…I cannot imagine being mid flight and losing a portion of the cabin. I’d probably have a bit of a panic attack 🙂

From CNN:

The Texas-based airline grounded 79 planes for inspection after a hole opened on top of a Boeing 737 mid-flight Friday.

It canceled approximately 600 flights to accommodate the inspections: 300 on Saturday and 300 flights on Sunday.

So far, investigators have found indications of cracks in three other aircraft, the National Transportation Safety Board said Sunday.

Of the planes inspected, 19 had returned to service by Sunday afternoon, the airline said.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Southwest Airlines Checks Planes for Cracks”

  1. One Op Says:

    What’s going on with these planes? Are they too old and cracking or what? Southwest is the only option I have to fly out of my area. to a bigger airport.

  2. Honeydog Says:

    It’s the way everything seems to be happening nowadays— The World’s “Business” is moving at Warp Speed, and people can’t keep-up with it… There is so much “Volume”, Demand is high, Time is precious, everything is “hurried”, needing to stay on Schedule, but always running behind. From Office Paperwork to Aircraft-checking, there isn’t enough Time in a Day to stay on top of everything and give it all proper Attention and Thoroughness. More and more things are turning-up “overlooked”, and more and more Human mistakes are occuring all the time.
    It’s really hard to completely Trust the Safety and Accuracy of anything anymore.

    Everything is “hurried”, needing to stay on Schedule, always running behind

  3. Honeydog Says:

    (oops… Disregard last sentence. Should’ve been erased)

  4. zelda Says:

    I always used Southwest when I was traveling.I felt safer with them,,,geeeeze
    I haven’t wanted to fly anywhere for years……..just not comfortable.My youngest son has tried for years to fly me to his place………I just can’t get on a plane anymore.

    It’s all about money,,,,,,,cutting costs for the airline I am afraid.They wait until something happens then go in and fix a few things to make us feel safer,,,,,,,,and then jot numbers down in the profit margin ……….oh man.

    Hi Honeydog and OneOp………

  5. Honeydog Says:

    Well Hi to you TOO Zelda! I know what you mean… I’m with you. I used to Fly all over the place for Vacations in the U.S. and Europe, but, after the last trip some years ago during which I had a pretty bad experience (on Southwest by the way), I just can’t do it. It’s a shame really, because, like you, I’m limiting myself to where I can go, and the longer I hesitate the more I realize I’m not ever going to get to some of those places I would still really like to. In a way, I guess it’s good (for me) that all these unfortunate things are happening with Air Travel anymore— Makes me not feel as bad that I’m missing-out, if you know what I mean.

  6. zelda Says:

    I know what you mean in spades Honeydog………


Leave a Reply

