Another Look at “New Journalism” and an Introduction to Tackable

My colleague at McGrath/Power Public Relations has an interesting post up today which takes another look at the so-called “New Journalism” and Tackable, a social journalism platform launching in partnership with the San Jose Mercury News, Contra Costa Times, Oakland Tribune and 31 other newspapers across the San Francisco Bay Area.

Please check it out at the link below. Good stuff!

From Pass the Mic:

Pitched recently by a former co-worker and journalist Luke Stangel at an SVNewTech Meetup, Tackable epitomizes citizen journalism.  And based on the response they are getting from the likes of the Mercury News and other top tier news outlets, there seems to be some real promise here.  By their own words, Tackable is designed to give you a live look at everything happening in your city, right now. Connect instantly with people witnessing what you’re interested in. News organizations use the platform to write better articles, faster.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Another Look at “New Journalism” and an Introduction to Tackable”

  1. Ina Says:

    Hi John, this is a nice new step in journalism, sort of twitter and gsm combined, giving amateurs, bloggers and all kinds of pro’s a tool to work faster, but of course with all this fast work, the quality of the news, the thouroughness, might be in danger a bit. Maybe both sorts of journalism can exist togheter?
    I think it would work great during revolts and big dissasters and such.

  2. zelda Says:

    John…….I am not getting the posts since this one

  3. zelda Says:

    John ????????????????

  4. One Op Says:

    Hey Zelda did you do a bad, John got you standing in the corner or something? lol

  5. zelda Says:

    I don’t know what is going on OneOp…………..Has there been a new post since the New Journalism piece???
    Will you ask John what is up???? please?
    Thanks oneop!

  6. Honeydog Says:

    Yeah! I’m startin to worry! I hope he’s just very very very very VERY busy elsewhere…. ????

  7. One Op Says:

    John, Zelda wants to know what is up? We all hope you are just busy and all is well.

  8. zelda Says:

    Thanks OneOp ,Hi Honeydog………..gee I thought it was me,,,,,,,,,,,,,,so he hasn’t posted any new things then? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm……………
    I want to give you my email honeydog and oneop but i don’t want to post it on here,how do we do that?

  9. Kreuzer33 Says:

    I’m alive. Been on vacation. Last day is tomorrow…No access to computer or the Internet! That’s my idea of heaven (see post I just put up).

  10. Honeydog Says:

    Hi Zelda. I’ve actually thought of that myself… that it would be nice. Unfortunately, I have no clue either how to do it.

    John? Can you give us some direction??

  11. Kreuzer33 Says:

    If you don’t want to post it online, I’m not sure how you can do it. Unless I send an email to the three of you myself which has all of your email addresses included…

  12. Honeydog Says:

    Thanks John. What do you want to do Zelda?

  13. zelda Says:

    hmmmmmmmmmm………..I think that would work???
    ok John…….ok Honeydog,,,,oneo0p,,,,?????

  14. One Op Says:

    I know John loves music and I would love to have him critique a piece or two so
    Maybe this way he would also send me an e-mail I could use to send it to him. I am very shy about e-mails because like right now I couldn’t sleep and I look like a witch. But as long as you can’t get a picture of me on camera or something I don’t mind HD and Z ONLY having my e-mail. Maybe I am a long haired wolf or something. and if you two is Little Red Riding Hoods, I might eat you. LOL

  15. Honeydog Says:

    Got that E-Mail John. Thank You.

    Zelda and OneOp:

    Adding you both to my “Contacts” (but, more than that, my Friends)…. Looking forward to it.


Leave a Reply

