5 Earth-Sized Planets Found in Milky Way

NASA scientists have announced that the Kepler space telescope has spotted five planets about the size of Earth, orbiting stars in the Milky Way.

Man! That must have been hard on their teeth! Oh wait…the Milky Way Galaxy. Whew!

From CNN:

These planets are orbiting in what is known as the habitable zone, which puts them at a distance from their suns where liquid water could exist. Liquid water is a key ingredient for life to form.

“In a generation we have gone from extraterrestrial planets being a mainstay of science fiction, to the present, where Kepler has helped turn science fiction into today’s reality,” said NASA Administrator Charles Bolden.

The Kepler science team also announced the telescope found six planets, all larger than Earth, orbiting a single sun-like star.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “5 Earth-Sized Planets Found in Milky Way”

  1. Honeydog Says:

    This is pretty cool. I wish we would find other Civilizations existing out there, and I sure hope I’m still living if and when it happens.

  2. zelda Says:

    Oh yeaaaaaaaa………I’ll be in the ticket line.

  3. Honeydog Says:

    Well I’ll be there to wave Goodbye as you’re going up! Not gettin me on anything leaving the ground anymore! I thought I remember you saying that too… or was that *OneOp*? Where IS *OneOp*????

  4. zelda Says:

    You are correct Honeydog in that I don’t like to fly any more.Did a lot of it for a long time………BUT,,it’s the idea of a less tainted planet that gets me interested. Granted,,,,,,,,who knows what THAT would be like and for how long eh?
    I was being facetious……….
    Yes,where are you OneOp……..I am going to have to toss little pebbles at you head ,,,,,,heh heh


Leave a Reply

