Welcome Back Florencio Ávalos! Chilean Miners Rescued!

Words can’t really describe the emotion on television right now as the Chilean miners are being rescued. Florencio Ávalos was the first miner rescued and the joyous emotion will be continuing for the rest of the evening! I have to say that I really enjoyed seeing miner Mario Sepulveda’s “celebration” as he came to the surface. He was pumped up and was definitely the character that we all were told to expect.

In watching this event take place over the next 48 hours, we must remember that rescue is only the beginning. This has been a traumatic experience for all involved (the miners, their families and the rescuers). You would expect that events such as this lead to only happy endings. But this isn’t always the case. You only have to look back to another high profile rescue, that of Baby Jessica Morales (McClure).

Baby Jessica’s rescue was a media spectacle. I was only 9 years old, but I remember the wall-to-wall coverage on the news networks. Her rescue was credited mostly to paramedic Robert O’Donnell and police officer William Andrew Glasscock Jr. These men were showered with positive media exposure and it seemed to take a toll on them.

In 1995, after eight years of post traumatic stress disorder which was brought on by the rescue and his subsequent media exposure, O’Donnell committed suicide. Then, in 2004, officer Glasscock was sentenced to 15 years in prison on charges of sexual exploitation of a child and sexual assault.

When we look at the rescue of the Chilean miners, lets remember to give all those involved their space. We know that in this 24/7 news cycle, that they will be the center of our attention for quite some time. But, lets celebrate now, and let everyone move on. I know that if I went through an experience like this, that’s what I’d want 🙂

From CNN:

When ordinary people are thrust into the spotlight, it can be disorienting and stressful. How they handle that attention could progress or hinder their recovery, experts said.

Mario Sepulveda, the second miner extracted, said he hoped to maintain a low-key profile.

“The only thing I ask, personally, is that you please not treat us like celebrities or journalists. I want to continue being treated like Mario Antonio Sepulveda Espinace, the worker, the miner. I love that, and I think that in some shape, way or form I want to continue working,” he said.

In his book “The Frenzy of Renown: Fame and Its History,” Leo Braudy writes about the effect of sudden fame for unintentional newsmakers.

“It’s a great problem for regular people, who are subjected to intense publicity and focus,” said Braudy. Sometimes, it’s ordinary people who’ve done something heroic or rescued someone.

“They’re lionized; and for some of them, it destroyed them,” he said, referring to a incident in which a paramedic who rescued baby Jessica McClure from a Texas well took his life years later.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Welcome Back Florencio Ávalos! Chilean Miners Rescued!”

  1. Sherry Says:

    This has been wonderful to watch! I nearly cried with the first rescued miner but the second guy was cracking me up! I bet he’s a fun guy to have around at gatherings…lol.


  2. Welcome Back Florencio Ávalos! « Kreuzer's Korner…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. kreuzer33 Says:

    Yeah. He should end up on a talk show or something. They said he was a character and it showed!

  4. Honeydog Says:

    It’s 5:20 AM here where I live, I’m still watching this amazing event in progress, and even with 7 Men now rescued, and everything looking like it’s going to continue to go well, I just can’t go to Bed yet. What an extraordinary night! I was thinking earlier how we, up here, always say how fast Time goes by— A Month passing seems like a Week anymore, and there aren’t enough Hours in a Day— And I just couldn’t wrap my Head around being these Men, Buried alive in a sense, and how each Day must have felt like a Week, and these Months like Years. All I can come-up with to say is, Whew. Anyway, this is such a Miracle, and I’m SO Impressed with the Spirit and Commoradity of these guys, as well as all the Planners, Equipment Builders and Operators, and Rescue Workers involved. As for granting them all their well-deserved Privacy, I honestly think most people wouldn’t have a problem with that, but, just knowing how the Media is, you know they’re going to pursue this Story like Wolves on the Hunt. I understand though, from a Report the other night, that these 33 Men made a “Pact” with each other that they will not ever talk about, nor give any details about what went on down there. Indeed, an extremely “Personal” and Psychological experience that they shouldn’t be Hounded to share. We will see, but, personally, it’s good enough for me to know what I’m observing right now on the TV. All that matters is that they are Alive and being Saved. It was really moving to hear that one of them had said that “there were actually “34” down there,
    because God was always with them”…. What more do we need to know.

  5. OneOp Says:

    Honeydog, I got chills reading your most extraordinarily beautiful and moving
    expression of appreciation for the spiritual and human intwining of these men. They have portrayed bravery and humbleness with strength patience and trust. Makes me ashamed of some of the little insignificant pettiness I can allow my time spent on every day. I do not idolize but I certainly feel drawn to a type of heroism illustrated in all these people including their famillies who no doubt relied on prayer and the 34th man. Also Honeydog, you say you are 5ft 2in, what a tiger
    you can be when stirred, yet such depth of compassion and honor in your words
    here, on this happening.


  6. I throughly enjoyed your comments about the rescue and your ability to point out the need for space and privacy for all involved. I didn’t know about Baby Jessica’s rescuers and their fate. I only wish others had your courage to stand up and say what you said, so pointingly directed at the media.


  7. Welcome Back Florencio Ávalos! Chilean Miners Rescued! « Kreuzer's ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  8. Baby Jessica Says:

    […] himself seven years after he became a hero for helping rescue “Baby Jessica” from a well shaft iBaby Jessica – 11, 2001, attacks. Robert O'Donnell became a prime example of rescue-related depression. He […]

  9. kreuzer33 Says:

    I think that it’s directed at everyone 🙂 Give some space…that’s what they need for awhile…


  10. Happy to see that everybody is safe!


  11. Welcome Back Florencio Ávalos! Chilean Miners Rescued! « Kreuzer's ……

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……


Leave a Reply

