Meridia pulled From Market

Abbott Laboratories is taking the weight loss drug Meridia (sibutramine) off the market, this according to the the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

From CNN:

The company voluntarily withdrew the drug because clinical trial studies showed there was an increased risk of heart attacks and strokes in people who used the drug.

Approximately 8 million people worldwide take the drug, the FDA said, including 100,000 Americans.

The drug had projected sales of $30 million in the U.S. in 2010, Abbott said.

“Meridia’s continued availability is not justified when you compare the very modest weight loss that people achieve on this drug to their risk of heart attack or stroke,”  Dr. John Jenkins, M.D., director of the Office of New Drugs in the FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, said in a conference call Friday. “Physicians are advised to stop prescribing Meridia to their patients and patients should stop taking this medication. Patients should talk to their health care provider about alternative weight loss and weight loss maintenance programs.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Meridia pulled From Market”

  1. Honeydog Says:

    When are people going to realize that ALL these
    “Diet” Pills on the Market are dangerous— Full of Chemicals, speeding-up and screwing-up your System. Putting this kind of stuff in your Body is bound to cause bad things to happen. None of it is “Safe”.

  2. zelda Says:

    I lost 40 lbs with “Metabolife” a few years back.
    All my friends and one of my daughters was taking it as well. We all lost weight. I was thrilled. THEN the news came that people had died from strokes etc, from it and they took it off the market.It was glorified speed.
    AND very addictive. I talked about sixty miles and hour and had a ton of energy which really helped me run my clothing store.
    Looking back it’s a wonder some of us didn’t croak!
    I was heartsick and started to gain the weight back. I have never lost it.My metabolism is like a thick old slug.
    I have always hoped there would be another product out there that gave the same results without the dangers.No such luck. Seems the new ones kill you too. Egad.
    I tried everything….exercise diets and all the “latest” programs. Weight watchers works if you are dedicated.
    Are you skinny Honeydog?

  3. Honeydog Says:

    Hi *Zelda*. It’s ironic that you describe what you took as “Glorified Speed”— It’s what I was saying, and exactly what all of these Products are, as well as the very reason for causing Heart Attacks, Strokes, etc. I can remember when the first-known Diet Pills came on the Scene, watching the News on TV about related Deaths, and how, one by one, over time, they were taken off the Shelf… and, despite their continuing Popularity and all the “new and improved versions” over the years, I am still hearing and reading about the serious Risks involved with literally everything out there. Other than the “Advertisements” for such Products having since taken a Back Seat to other Weight Loss alternatives (Home “Work-out” Equipment, Jenny Craig, Lean Cuisine, etc), nothing has changed over the years as far as any over-the-counter or Mail Order Diet Pill, beCAUSE, nothing BUT some form of “Speed” can put the Body in a constant state of “Racing” and Anxiety, which causes Weight to drop. All in all, with the
    obvious radical strain on the Heart, Blood-Pressure-raising effects, and, in some cases, Nervous-System damage, Diet Pills are the absolute worst. No, Zelda, I’m not what you’d call “Skinny” (I consider “Skinny” being like a straight up-and-down “Stick” of a Figure), but I guess you could say I’m “Thin”, being 5’2″ Tall and 110 Pounds. Although I’ve never had a Weight problem, I’m the type of curious person who pays attention to alot of different things, even if some of those things don’t apply to my own situation, needs or desires, just for the sake of having the Knowledge and educating myself. In mentioning that you wish there was something out there without the Dangers, and which you haven’t already tried, there IS a Program that stands-out in my Mind as being the ONLY one I myself would choose, with no need to think twice about thoroughly Trusting it, in every way, for its absolute Common Sense approach, Effectiveness, Results, and Safety (no Pills). Unfortunately, although I can remember the details and how extremely impressed I was (and believe me, I’m very Analytical, and it takes alot to convince me), the “Name” escapes me at this moment. It’s been a while since I first learned of it, and, since I didn’t have the need, I just didn’t keep the Name in my Head. If you’re interested though, I wouldn’t mind trying to find it for you. Have a nice Sunday!


  4. I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet users,
    its really really pleasant paragraph on building up new
    webpage.


Leave a Reply

