Restaurant Review: Little Chef in San Jose

I’m going to start this off pretty simple: if you’re looking for good Chinese food, with excellent and speedy service, then Little Chef on Winchester Boulevard in San Jose, California is NOT the place for you.

Open...but will they have what you want?

We’ve had the misfortune of visiting this restaurant on multiple occasions as it is only a few blocks from our house. After my latest visit this evening, I’m not sure that I can handle giving them another chance.

First, while the food is decent (and I stress decent), they are always out of the items I want when I want them. For example: the House Chicken and the Won Tons always seem to be gone when I get there. Who knows, maybe it’s because it’s the dinner rush. Who knows…but seriously…four times in a row? Unacceptable!

How about this…everytime that I visit this restaurant, I have to wait for 15 minutes just to order my food. Can’t they make more in that time? I guess not!

Another thing that bothers me is that this restaurant charges you to use an ATM by making you withdraw money from their machine and then paying with the cash. What is this…the 1990’s? Set up a system that allows your customers to pay via debit or credit card.

$1.00/bag...if they ever have them!

Anyways, I’m going to cut this short because my kids didn’t get their won tons again this evening. All I can say is that if you live in this area of San Jose/Campbell, I highly recommend taking the extra few minutes to drive to Panda Express to get your meal. You can find one at Westgate off Hamilton and Campbell Avenue or in the shopping center adjacent to Lawrence Expressway and Stevens Creek Bouleveard. The food quality is basically the same, and it’s a bit cheaper. They’ll probably have the food you’re looking for too!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Restaurant Review: Little Chef in San Jose”

  1. OneOp Says:

    Ok, I’ll go anywhere for a fried won dollar LOL

  2. kreuzer33 Says:

    The won tons are the main reason I go there. My kids love them. Unfortunately, they are out every time I go. Why put something on the menu if you are always out (whether it’s noon or 6 p.m.)

  3. Honeydog Says:

    There are alot of good Chinese “Take-Out” places where I live, but large Chinese “Buffets” have taken the Chinese-eating population here by storm. Depending on where you go, you can eat till you bust for $12 to $15 (includes free Drink Refills and a variety of Desserts) which is less than the price of a couple Meals or 3 or 4 separate items at a Take-Out. What’s great is that they also put Discount Coupons in the local Circulars, and you CAN get any and as much of the Food on the Buffet “To-Go” if you want to. I’m ADDICTED to one Buffet in particular, which offers 8 12-Foot Tables of the best Chinese Food I’ve ever eaten, and the Food Pans are always kept filled, even when we haven’t gotten there till late. I’ve not had a problem either with any of the Take-Out places I like “running-out” of anything, much less something like Won Ton, which is definitely what you would expect them to have the most of on-hand. Yeah, it’s important to Customers to be able to get what they have their Taste Buds set on, and maybe your not-so-good “Review” of a place you apparently do like and have frequented often, will get the Word, and step it up!


  4. First of all, Little Chef doesn’t sound like a good name for a Chinese restaurant. In fact, it sounds more like the name for some type of traditional cuisine. (That makes me wonder about the nationality of the owner).

    Secondly, judging from the other photo, it appears as if it may be some type of fast food place whose menu is seen from across the room.

    A warning: watch out for MSG which may be used in these place that cook ahead and reheat. They aren’t suppose to use it, but sometimes they do. I can recall spending two entire days strapped to the toilet talking to “ralph” several years ago. I would have paid someone to kill me-that’s how bad it was.

  5. kreuzer33 Says:

    That’s what I’m hoping. I’m a pretty easy guy to make happy…but this place really needs to take a step back and think about customer service…

  6. OneOp Says:

    Who’s “ralph”? Is he able to help in that kind of situation?

  7. zelda Says:

    Oneop……………..here come the rocks!!!!!!!!!!

    hahahahahahahahallllloooooooooooooooooooooooooohahahahahahahahaha…”who is ralph?”

    oooooooooooo……….hahahahahalook out! ping..ping..ping……….

  8. Honeydog Says:

    OH *OneOp*!! You crack me up!!!! (Your HEAD should be pretty CRACKED by now from all *Zelda’s* Rocks!! LOL!).

    P.S.> *Thinker*: Yeah, I’ve never known a Chinese Restaurant/Take-Out etc not to have a Chinese name.
    I know about that MSG stuff, but the places here all have hanging Signs and/or notations on their Menus that they neither use that, nor Cholesterol. Maybe it was Food-Poisoning you had?? It sounds like it to me, ’cause that’ll really tear you up like the way you described.


  9. […] globenomads wrote an interesting post today Here’s a quick excerpt I’m going to start this off pretty simple: if you’re looking for good Chinese food, with excellent and speedy service, then Little Chef on Winchester Boulevard in San Jose, California is NOT the place for you. … […]


Leave a Reply

