CD Review: Trailer Choir, Tailgate

What can I say about Trailer Choir that I haven’t said before. You can go back to the very first time I ever mentioned this talented trio back in July of 2008 and my last concert review of their show in San Jose, California, at the Rodeo Club.

Their new album, Tailgate, came out earlier this summer and I can guarantee that I was one of the first people to pick it up (my local Wal-Mart of course). At a more than reasonable $10, this is one of the top CD’s that I’ve purchased in recent memory. Yes, I still buy CD’s!

The track list is a mix of new music and familiar favorites. If you don’t have the album in front of you, and you should, here’s what you’ll find on the CD:

1. Shakin’ That Tailgate

2. Rollin’ Through the Sunshine

3. Can’t Drink All Day

4. Last Man Standing

5. Homemade Mexico

6. Wal-Mart Flowers

7. In My Next 5 Beers

8. Girls Love to Go Dancin’

9. Rockin’ the Beer Gut

10. Off the Hillbilly Hook

In the maybe 75-80 times I’ve listened to the CD already, I can tell you that there are already some instant classics on this CD. From the energetic “Shakin’ That Tailgate”, which you currently hear on country music stations across the country, to classics such as “Off the Hillbilly Hook” and “Rollin’ Through the Sunshine”, the CD has a perfect mix of fun and sun!

My own personal favorite new song on the CD is “Can’t Drink All Day”. If I had to make a recommendation for their next single, this would have to be it. Nothing sums it up better than the lyrics “you can’t drink all day, if you don’t start early.”

Of course, it wouldn’t be a party without “Rockin’ the Beer Gut.” This was the first song that I ever heard the band play and it was the song that got me hooked. To this day, my son STILL requests that I play this every time we get in the car and my daughter pretty much knows all of the lyrics by heart. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing, or a bad thing 🙂

So in summary, Tailgate is one of those ‘must have’ albums that’s in stores today. From top to bottom, there isn’t a song that I find myself needing to hit the “next” button on. I was a little surprised that “What Would You Say” didn’t make it on the album, but if that’s my only complaint, we’re doing pretty good!

4 1/2 stars out of 5 on Tailgate…

If you’ve got the album, please feel free to share your comments below.

If you love the band, please feel free to share your comments below.

If you’re with the band, please feel free to come back to San Jose soon (and share your comments below).

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “CD Review: Trailer Choir, Tailgate”


  1. Hi, I LOVE TRAILER CHOIR! I wish they would come to southern New Mexico. Would you happen to know where I could the Rocking The Beer Gut Song on Video without all the comments and ads from You Tube?
    Thank You!
    Keep On Rockin That Beer Gut!

  2. kreuzer33 Says:

    Awesome band. The first time I encountered them was on a Toby Keith tour. I wrote a review back in 2008 that said that they would be big someday. Keep rockin’ that beer gut!


  3. […] years ago, I did an in depth review of “Tailgate”, which was one of my favorites of 2010. From the energetic “Shakin’ […]


Leave a Reply

