Craigslist Killer Commits Suicide

Philip Markoff, a former medical student who was accused of killing a masseuse he met through Craigslist, was found dead in his cell early this morning in the Nashua Street Jail.

From the Boston Herald:

Sheriff Andrea Cabral “failed in her duty to provide care and custody to an inmate awaiting trial, and because of this failure, the Brisman family will never see justice served,” Boston City Councilor Stephen J. Murphy, chairman of the Committee on Public Safety, told the Herald.

Markoff, 24, had been awaiting trial for erotic masseuse Julissa Brisman’s execution in a Back Bay hotel last year when he was found suffocated by a clear plastic shopping bag from the jail’s canteen yesterday morning. The apple-pie handsome former medical student at Boston University had also stabbed himself with a pen, sources said.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Craigslist Killer Commits Suicide”

  1. Honeydog Says:

    Wow. I didn’t know. Missed the News on TV. I’m confused though… I thought Prisoners weren’t even allowed to HAVE anything in their Cell that could be considered a Weapon or potentially Dangerous to themselves. But now that I think of it, they allow Casey Anthony to have Pens and stuff to write Letters. I guess this is where this Andrea Cabral comes in— She wasn’t paying close attention. Was Markoff even considered Suicidal? I can’t remember. Anyway, I suppose the Brisman Family did get kind of Jipped, but the guy’s Dead afterall, and I would imagine he didn’t have a good time getting there, inflicting it upon himself in such a manner. Quite a story.

  2. cali patti Says:

    If a prisoner wants to commit suicide they will find a way. A person would need to be very skilled and determined to kill yourself using a pen. That would be a difficult course to take.

    Actually now these tragic events can be closed. Sitting thru trial would be more difficult than anything else.

  3. Honeydog Says:

    I agree with your last Sentence *Cali*, and, if it were me, I’d be satisfied that the creep is Dead. I CAN understand though, how Victim’s Families just want to have the Pleasure (and Revenge) of putting their Loved-one’s Killer on Public Display and witnessing their Slaughter. Inasmuch as Murder Trials are indeed Trying and Devastating on the Family, I can see where, in the end, it would have provided them that “Release” of Anger, and better Closure.

  4. zelda Says:

    There is no “perfect closure” in any case like this for the family I would assume.That this sicko took his own life in this gruesome manner and left his ex fiances name written in blood was just another way to manipulate the situation I think.He had one of those hidden ,sick personalities….
    I would breathe a sigh of relief that he is gone for good if I was a family member on either side…I realize it is a sad horrible thing for them in any case.


Leave a Reply

