Lunch Review: Mary’s Pizza Shack (Rohnert Park)

From my days of living in Petaluma, California, there is one place that comes to mind when it comes to great pizza: Mary’s Pizza Shack.

Cheese Bread...

Mary’s has been a staple in Sonoma County for more than 50 years. According to their Web site, founder Mary Fazio was born in New York City and in 1959, she took her own pots and pans from home and $700 in savings to start Mary’s Pizza Shack. The restaurant became an instant success.

Small Cheese Pizza...

At Mary’s you have a wide selection of soups, salads, pasta, pizza, burgers and more! There is not a bad choice on the menu. Yesterday afternoon, I had the opportunity to visit Mary’s for the first time in more than 3 years, and I wasn’t disappointed.

The staff, as always, was very friendly and accommodating at the Rohnert Park restaurant. This is key in this day and age when there are so many options that consumers have. I ordered a half loaf of Mozzarella Garlic Bread which was cooked absolutely perfectly. My waitress brought the appetizer to my table within minutes and I found it difficult to take the picture (above) because I was honestly drooling, waiting to take my first bite.

The pizza was just as I remember it: New York Style thin crust with the best marinara sauce I’ve found at ANY pizza parlor. I went simple, ordering just a small, cheese pizza. But simple doesn’t mean boring at Mary’s. The flavor explodes just as it hits your mouth and you keep wanting more (until your plate is empty of course). Maybe I should have gotten the medium or the large?

In summary, I found my experience just as I remembered it and couldn’t help but flashing back to the times when my grandparents, who have since passed away, used to take me out after baseball games. Nothing beats a trip to Mary’s when you visit the North Bay (or now as far away as Roseville, Vacaville and Dixon, California to the east and Walnut Creek to the south).

I highly recommend you try them out, and let me know what you think πŸ™‚

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Lunch Review: Mary’s Pizza Shack (Rohnert Park)”

  1. knight owl Says:

    John, well that just looks delicious. I would like some bread sticks while i am waiting on my pizza please.lol. Should i ever be in Sonoma i would definitely eat at Mary’s.

    I Love how they got their beginning and i am very happy their business is still going strong. Kudos to them.

    Thanks~~

  2. Diana Says:

    There goes my diet!!

    Seriously *John….the best pizza in the world is in Elm Grove, Wheeling, WV called DiCarlos Pizza. It’s square, thin and DELICIOUS and people have it shipped out to other states when they move away. I wish you could try it.

    The only one I’ve had that’s remotely close to it is Cristaldos in N.H…not as good, but close.

  3. kreuzer33 Says:

    Then you need to try Mary’s πŸ™‚ Go check out the other place I ate at on another post. My other favorite: Black Bear Diner!

  4. Honeydog Says:

    I’m real picky about Pizza… LOVE “Thin Crust”, and, Yeah, absolutely, GOOD Sauce is a must! This one does look like my kind of Pizza. Although we’ve got some really great Pizza joints in my area, the best— believe it or not— is in the local Farmers Market, made in Brick Ovens, and by an Italian Family who barely speak nor understand English.

    Same thing… it’s Heavenly, and you just can’t get enough of it. There’s definitely a very special Knack to creating and making REALLY GOOD Pizza, and it does sound like “Mary’s” would be a rewarding place to stop and try it if I’m ever in any of their locations!


  5. now heres an interesting website. ta for taking the time to publish that. bookmarked to my favs


Leave a Reply

