Update…

My brother Dan is doing better than he was 24 hours ago, but is still in the ICU.

Dan is on the far left...

He is preparing to have multiple surgeries this week to fix his right leg and hip. The doctor said that in the accident, the right femur went through the hip, causing it to shatter. They’ll need to put two plates in.

He still has bruised lungs, which were caused when his sternum was crushed and is having difficulty breathing.

On the positive side, he has no internal bleeding and his lacerated liver is healing. This will be a very busy week so time will tell how quickly he will heal.

I think the worst has past, but I’ll be sure to drop in for some updates.

Thank you for all of your prayers and well wishes!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

30 Comments on “Update…”

  1. OneOp Says:

    Ahhhh, what good looking men, would love to meet you all! Is Dan the brother who likes country music and plays guitar? I would like to send him a song but do not know how. Keep holding in prayer, this all sounds very painful and stressful for all of you with many days ahead to get through it all.
    I

  2. kreuzer33 Says:

    Well, we all like our country music…well three out of four 🙂 But yes, he’s the one that plays guitar.

  3. OneOp Says:

    Which one doesn’t? second from left or second from right. Gotta be one or the other. is your brother Dan resting well tonight?

  4. kreuzer33 Says:

    Second from left. He’s doing as good as can be right now. I’ve gone home for the night (2 hours away) and will head back up there on Tuesday…

  5. OneOp Says:

    You need some rest John. Best for tomorrow. Nite.

  6. Lona1 Says:

    Hi Mr. Kreuzer,
    I hope that your brother has a speedy recovery. Good news regarding the liver and no internal bleeding. Hang in there, it all will be well!

  7. cali patti Says:

    good news John. It is easy to tell which bro isn’t a big country music fan. Another misconception of mine, I thought you boys went up thru the catholic school systems. take care.

  8. kreuzer33 Says:

    Ha ha! Nope. My wife’s family did. We went to public school…

  9. Becky Says:

    Hello there,

    I’m glad I looked up Dan on the internet and found your blog. Dan was in my high school class and is there any way to share this on Facebook? Let me know and I would be glad to post it for the others to get updates.

    Thank you,
    Becky

  10. Sherry Says:

    Still praying for Dan and you and your family. This looks like it will be a bit of a rough week for everyone. I especially pray for Dan’s breathing to become easier as nothing is worse than being unable to breathe when enduring such an accident’s aftermath.

    Take care of yourself, too, John!

  11. knight owl Says:

    Hi John, Thanks for updating us. What a wonderful picture. Very handsome guys. Since i said handsome guys that would mean you too, but now don’t let that go to your head, ha ha. I just stopped in to let you know i am still praying and wishing a speedy recovery for your brother Dan.

  12. cali patti Says:

    Nothing wrong with public school, I’m just partial to Catholic H.S. sports. Hang in there kiddo, be careful driving.

  13. zelda Says:

    I send my best to you and your family.
    A difficult time indeed.

  14. kreuzer33 Says:

    Hi Becky,

    You can mention that the family updated you on his condition and that he’s still not out of the woods but doing much better than he was when he arrived. He’ll be having hip and leg surgery this week and they expect a full recovery in 6-9 months.

  15. kreuzer33 Says:

    Knight Owl,

    I’ll try not to let it go to my head.

    Oops…too late! 🙂

  16. Becky Says:

    Thank you! I will … send my well wishes to him!

  17. knight owl Says:

    John, that is okay considering the circumatances you can let it go to your head just this one time. lol. I know from your clowning around videos that your brother is used to that too,so when he get’s through these surgeries he is gonna want to hear you during his recovery sitting by his bedside doing that joking around stuff. Laughter is the best medicine and your great at it. I am still laughing from the portland oregan ribs video.

  18. kreuzer33 Says:

    I’ll see him tomorrow. Just let me know your full name so I can be sure to tell him the right person 🙂 He is on Facebook: Daniel Kreuzer.

  19. kreuzer33 Says:

    Unfortunately with the injury to the sternum, ribs and lungs, I’m not supposed to make him laugh. This is difficult because I’m the “class clown” 🙂

  20. Becky Says:

    Now everyone is concerned since I posted your comment on FB … please post updates so I can relay the information …

  21. Becky Says:

    Oh … I was Becky Chapman in school … now Becky Scott. We’re friends on facebook, but I didn’t see any posts on there yesterday.

  22. kreuzer33 Says:

    Yeah. He won’t be posting anytime soon, unfortunately. He’ll have a couple of surgeries this week and then need months to recover. He’s at Santa Rosa Memorial Hospital. A few people from his class were by yesterday to say hi.

  23. Becky Says:

    Oh that’s nice to hear … I’m sure he’ll have a lot of visitors. If you could tell him I said hello that would be greatly appreciated.

  24. kreuzer33 Says:

    Will do! No problem!

  25. laurali Says:

    John~ you the class clown, I am shocked! No not really :). Thank you for keeping us updated. You know how all of us women worry, probably do not need to remind you of the earth quake when you had us all worried. Be safe and save up the jokes for your brother til he feels better.

  26. knight owl Says:

    John, that is so true so you will have to hold off joking around for awhile then but Dan will get well in record speed and all of you guys can have a great time then.

  27. Feathers Says:

    John! Isn’t it wonderful to have so many brothers, and to be as close as the four of you are? We’re all so grateful he survived this. Let him know of the many who praying that his recovery will be as speedy and painless as possible, as well as we are praying for all of you.

    You’ve all been witnesses to one miracle already – his survival. Now you will marvel through his recovery. I suspect it will be rapid, for the medical care of so many and the strength that he can draw on from all of you.

    Thank you so much, for posting the photograph! It’s the best!

  28. cali patti Says:

    Just checking in. Please give your Mom my regards and best wishes. As a Mom of three sons I know how precious each one of you are to her. You and your family are being thought of.

  29. Swift Justice Says:

    Wonderful news……for a change.

    I’m sure your family feels relief.

    The Lord heard every prayer

  30. Honeydog Says:

    Hi John~
    As you probably know, I was away on Vacation, and just now learned of your Brother’s unfortunate Accident. I am so Sorry. As I read through your previous Post and listing of Injuries, I was reminded of our own near-fatal Car Accident which my Daughter, my Father, and myself were in some years ago, and the similar Injuries I sustained— A Crushed Sternum caused both my Lungs to Collapse, I had three broken Limbs, Head and Neck Injuries, Internal Brusing (including the Liver) to name a few, and I know just how painful such Traumas to the Body are, and what Dan is going through right now. I am however, so glad to hear that there is no Internal Bleeding, that his Leg and Hip are able to be Mended, and that it sounds as though his overall Prognosis is Promising. Indeed, this is a tough and hectic time for all of you, and I truly hope that each new Day will bring Dan and your Family the uplifting Relief which comes from gradual yet steady Healing. As difficult as the present is, remember that it will become the Past, and that all of you are so very Fortunate to be able to look forward to having good Times with your Brother again in the Future. My Thoughts and Best Wishes that the Surgeries go well, and, when you can, I know we’ll all appreciate any News you have Time to share.


Leave a Reply

