George Steinbrenner Dies at Age 80

UPDATE: Here is the official statement from the New York Yankees organization.

As a Red Sox fan, you’d probably expect me to not care about the death of George Steinbrenner. I’ve spoken to a few people this morning who feel that way and I don’t understand why. No matter what team you support, you have to admit, he knew how to build a winner.

Until the past year or two, George Steinbrenner was the visible leader of the Yankees organization. He brought in the talent needed to win a number of World Championships. He was loved by some, and hated by many.

But he always did what he thought needed to be done to win, and the baseball world has lost one of its most regognizable faces and the game will not be the same without him! I wonder what George Costanza is thinking today 🙂

RIP George Steinbrenner.

From the New York Times:

George Steinbrenner, who bought a declining Yankees team in 1973, promised to stay out of its daily affairs and then, in an often tumultuous reign, placed his formidable stamp on 7 World Series championship teams, 11 pennant winners and a sporting world powerhouse valued at perhaps $1.6 billion, died Tuesday morning, the team announced. He was 80 and lived in Tampa, Fla.

“He was an incredible and charitable man,” the family said in a statement.

“He was a visionary and a giant in the world of sports. He took a great but struggling franchise and turned it into a champion again.”

Mr. Steinbrenner’s death came nine months after the Yankees won their first World Series title since 2000, clinching their six-game victory over the Philadelphia Phillies at his new Yankee Stadium, and two days after the team’s longtime public-address announcer Bob Sheppard died at age 99.

From the Wall Street Journal:

George Steinbrenner, the 80-year-old owner of the New York Yankees, died in a Tampa hospital after suffering a heart attack early Tuesday morning.

“It is with profound sadness that the family of George M. Steinbrenner III announces his passing. He passed away this morning in Tampa, Fla., at age 80,” the family said in a statement released to ESPN.

Steinbrenner’s health has been declining in recent years, and he had reportedly given up daily control of the team to his children.

From USA Today:

Here are some of our favorite quotes from George:

On whether he liked owning race horses more than controlling the Yankees: “I like horses better, because they can’t talk to sportswriters.”

On his personality: “I’m like Archie Bunker. I get mad as hell when my team blows one.”

Reacting in 1978 to commissioner Bowie Kuhn’s criticism that he paid too much for players: “I don’t agree with free agency, but it wasn’t my leadership that created it.”

On baseball players: “(They) should be the happiest guys in the world. They’re getting paid magabucks for playing a kids’ game.”

His plan when as president of the American Shipbuilding Company, he bought the Yankees in 1973: “We plan absentee ownership. I’ll stick to building ships.”

His self-parody, on Saturday Night Live, in 1990: “Where is it written that if you don’t get results right away you fire somebody? . . . Only a jackass would do that.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “George Steinbrenner Dies at Age 80”

  1. zelda Says:

    John……I have to say I was appalled at your statement that “you probably don’t expect me to care about the death of Steinbrenner” because you are a Red Sox fan. What a shallow and more than in bad taste statement.

    You know you should think about how A young person would “hear” that.

    That is so disrespectful for one thing and just plain scary in light of the “fan” mania.

    The back handed kudos you gave him were over shadowed by you lack of tact in your post.

    Think about it……..


  2. George Steinbrenner Dies at Age 80 « Kreuzer's Korner…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. kreuzer33 Says:

    You will read a lot of comments today from Red Sox fans (and others) who either “don’t care” or are “happy” that he’s passed. I’ve already seen them online and I don’t agree with either because as much as he may have been disliked by many baseball fans, he brought a lot to the game, both good and bad.

    The statement is there to say that “yes, I care.” I care as a fan of baseball and as a fan of the Red Sox.

    Boston Red Sox fans and New York Yankees fans have a deep, heated rivalry. If you read the post as it was written, it is being written to the antagonists who believe that it is because of this rivalry that Red Sox fans, myself included, will rejoice in his death. I would hope that this is not true for others and I know that its NOT TRUE WHATSOEVER for me. Why would anyone rejoice in Steinbrenner’s death? If you are a so called “fan” who is at all happy by his death, then you are not a “fan” of baseball whatsoever.

    I would hope that true baseball fans will understand what a loss Major League Baseball has had today and that there will be a tribute at tonight’s All Star Game in Anaheim.

  4. zelda Says:

    Naw…………you missed my point. And what’s up with people who can erase the death of another human in the great name of “sports”????????How horrid is ANY headline that says we are glad he’s dead and put “THE GAME” over sane thinking?Ooooooooo……….no………I don’t think you can quantify it any way you turn it without coming up with some scary “group mentality” stuff.It’s interesting how sports and their rabid fans can create the coolness to say “I am glad he’s dead” because he was from “another team”!Yikes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    What is this saying about us eh?

  5. kreuzer33 Says:

    Maybe I did miss your point. I hope that I read the comment right. I try to read every comment everyone leaves, even if I don’t respond 🙂

    Here’s something sad: I saw someone post earlier on a Web site that “he can now join Billy Martin in hell. I’m glad he’s dead. Good riddance.” Something is just plain wrong about that!

    My point that I’m hoping to get across is that I’m a baseball fan, always have been and always will be. I’m teaching my kids about the game and want them to grow up learning about how good of a game it is. I don’t want to be grouped into the lump of “fans” who are smiling today at his death.

    I’ve seen Red Sox fans on Twitter this morning going after Yankees fans saying “Ha ha” or even worse than that and as a Red Sox fan, I don’t want to be seen in that way, ya know? The Yankees organization may be described as the “most hated franchise in professional sports” but all members, past and present, are human beings and they have suffered two losses in the past couple of days and we must understand that what they are going through is not easy.

    You’re right about rabid fans. I was unhappy with Lebron James decision to leave Cleveland, and go to Miami, but look at the way his fans have turned on him. Pretty intense!

  6. zelda Says:

    John,
    Your last sentence is what I am talking about.
    If you want to teach your kids about the great “game” where there are winners and losers, must they see this kind of mindless rabidity that fosters hate and violence?Do they have to be subjected to the rants of their biased parents?
    Mindless is the operative here……is it possible to have individuality in a screaming blood-up riotous crowd? I am just asking.
    My boys were in Little League……..I was so astonished at the venom of the parents in the grandstands and fighting with decesions made by coaches that I had to take the kids out eventually. Mind you I didn’t want to, and the boys did not care to be there either, so I didn’t force them to quit because of what I thought. I made as little a deal out of it as possible because I didn’t want to be ranting like some of the other parents. I was not alone in my choice.Several parents followed suit.I will never forget the poor little boys who had to endure that horrid example.
    I guess the bottom line is…there is not enough time on the planet to add to any violent disregard of a quirt mind and peaceful solutions.That is what I want the kids of today to realize..or we are toast.
    JMO.
    Just

  7. zelda Says:

    that should read .quiet.not quirt.lol

  8. kreuzer33 Says:

    I coached two teams this year. They were 2-3 year olds and 3-4 year olds. It’s SCARY how serious they took things. There was a story on the news last night about a dad who PUNCHED his 9 year old during a game. Seriously WTF!

    I’m glad that I’m a fan of baseball. Yes, I root for my teams, but in the end, it’s just a game, right?

  9. zelda Says:

    Right……….!! You got it! THAT is what a good coach teaches the little boys!Kids deserve at least a “glimpse” of what the whole idea of win or lose means. Lose is not a bad word,just one of two outcomes. No big deal.THEN maybe when these little boys grow up they won’t take that vague remembered violence at the idea of losing to heart and not kill their wife or kids! It’s academic……….and hopefully good coaches will realize how super important they are in the scheme of things.

  10. OneOp Says:

    You are right John, teach the children how to get along in the world with others
    and that can be accomplished in sports if the parent (s) also want to get along in the world of competition. Once at a high school football game (i knew the son and the parents) this young man did not play up to par and make his daddy proud so from the stands his father yelled obscenities, belittlement, and himiliating words at his son on the playing field. It was sickening, and easy to see he was trying to force his son to do something he himself could never accomplish. Wanted his fame thru his son and that didn’t happen. It was all very sad and I felt so very sorry for this young man. I couldn’t bear to attend another game that season.


Leave a Reply

