‘Barefoot Bandit’ Expected to Appear in Court

Colton Harris-Moore, the former teenage fugitive known as the “barefoot bandit”, is expected to appear in court this week after authorities caught him in a high-speed boat chase in the Bahamas.

From CNN:

Police said 19-year-old Colton Harris-Moore was taken into custody following the chase in the waters off Harbour Island. Authorities responded to a reported sighting of Harris-Moore just after 2 a.m. ET Sunday, said police commissioner Ellison Greenslade.

“It is expected that he will appear in court on arraignment later this week to answer to a number of criminal charges,” Greenslade said Sunday.

An account of the arrest offered by a spokeswoman for Romora Bay Resort and Marina described a dramatic capture befitting a James Bond film.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “‘Barefoot Bandit’ Expected to Appear in Court”

  1. zelda Says:

    I am glad they finally got Colton . He could have come to a terrible end either in a plane crash or shot.
    My take on him is that his mother is a crazy and he was raised as only a crazy woman etc. can.She is doing movie and book deals and riding the wave of Colton’s wild response of his weird up bringing. He may be bent that way too………plant a bean get a bean so to speak.In any case he lashed out and did what he could do best and that seems to be stealing……figuring out technical difficulties the average guy would just scratch his head over, and he went with it.Not a good or admiral choice…….but it was his escape from his circumstances here at home. Yes I live in the same area he grew up in.
    Who knows if he went astray because of his up bringing or because he has a criminal mind. I would suggest it may be a little of both.He’s been in trouble since he was pretty young.He is still just a kid…a big lanky one.
    My hope is that he gets help so as to determine his mental state. And of course he must pay for his deeds.
    So I wonder how much mama gets for selling his story?I wonder if she will use that money to help Colton. I know she hired an entertainment lawyer…… to do the movie and book deals .I wonder if she will hire a criminal one?
    Sometime this old world seem upside down to me……

  2. zelda Says:

    Colton had one allowed phone call and he made it to his Aunt.Interesting.Maybe his Mom hasn’t a phone?
    Looks like the Bahamas are going to charge him there and not extradite him right away. As they should.
    I read where his mother has hired an atty for him.A criminal atty.I wondered if she would.Boy I’ll bet there will be stack of lawyers wanting in on this one.Another zoo no doubt.
    We will have to wait and see who comes out of the woodwork.

  3. Honeydog Says:

    Where have I BEEN? I’ve never HEARD of this guy! Who IS he? Where’s he FROM? What did he DO? Help me OUT here ZELDA!

  4. zelda Says:

    I saw a short interview with Colton’s mother this morning .She said she was on the phone when he tried to phone her so he called his aunt.So that explains that.

    I am not going to comment on her again until I have a fuller picture of that situation. In all fairness to her I will get down from my throne of blame and will think before I speak and assign blame from my armchair perch.

    I am glad he is safe……..I am glad no person was killed or injured in the wake of all his actions.

    I hope his mother finds peace……….

    As always my posts are only my thoughts and observations.

  5. zelda Says:

    Hi Honeydog…….I will post more about him soon……


  6. That kid is bad ass. Obviously a genius. It is a shame that his talents will probably go towards a life of crime. Reminds me of the film Catch Me If You Can.


Leave a Reply

