LOST “Across the Sea”: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly…

Last nights episode of LOST, Across the Sea, has been a widely debated topic over the past 12 hours. I’ve heard the good, the bad and the ugly from viewers around the world who tuned into this highly anticipated episode.

Without going into the details (thus spoiling everything for those who have not watched) I’ll say that this episode was good, but as I expected, could NEVER live up to the hype and expectations it had coming into the evening. If you’re looking for spoilers and a great discussion, be sure to check out Dark UFO.

We got a lot of answers (Adam and Eve, the origins of the Smoke Monster and the backstory of Jacob and the Man in Black) but also got some more questions as well. I also thought that Allison Janney did an excellent, albeit creepy job, with her character “Mother”.

With only 3 1/2 hours left in the show, I really hope that the writers can pull this story together. I know that we’ll never get all the answers that we want, but I’m OK with that. I just want to be satisfied when the final curtain falls in just under two weeks.

Here’s a nice summary from CNN. Please be sure to click the link for the full review.

“Every question I answer will simply lead to another question.” So said one mysterious resident of the island, to a pregnant woman who was shipwrecked there thousands of years ago. Boy, she wasn’t kidding.

We got more than our usual share of answers on Tuesday night’s episode of “Lost,” with one long flashback explaining the origins of Jacob and the Man in Black. Chances are that this will either be seen as a landmark episode or a massive misfire by most fans. It will almost certainly be debated for a long time to come.

I don’t know about you, but I’m going to resign myself to the fact that some of what’s happened over these six seasons just won’t be fully explained (especially after recent statements by Evangeline Lilly and another key actor on the show – watch this space for more on that later today). I’m okay with that. Even so, I’m hoping we’ll get a little more clarity, at least on what we saw in this third-to-last episode, before it’s all over.

What really struck me were the many parallels between this mythic story and the themes of the show up to this point.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

